We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SWISS PICTURE POSTCARD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise

Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise
Zermatt, Switzerland
+41 27 966 81 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Activities in Zermatt
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skiing and snowboarding the whole year round, with 365 days of snow – you can only find this in Zermatt. As the highest altitude, largest and most efficiently developed snow sport location in the Alps, Zermatt offers an absolute snow guarantee. In winter, 350 km of piste attracts skiers of all levels. Unlimited skiing and snowboarding between Switzerland and Italy – no other destination can offer this. And in the summer? Enjoy the 20 km of pistes on the Zermatt Theodul Glacier. Carve and relax alongside national ski teams from the whole of Europe. With the Matterhorn always in sight.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A SWISS PICTURE POSTCARD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I only spent a few hours in this lovely town, but would highly rate this resort. Wherever you look there are mountains, picture postcard chalets and shops. It is not cheap, but it is full of character and well worth a visit.
There is a lift that takes you inside the rock up to a cafe and spectacular view overlooking the Matterhorn. It costs 20 euros for a 3 minute ride (return) but also takes skiers up to the ski lift and their wish to go higher still.
It is a very busy resort, all vehicles are non-polluting and therefore very quiet.They buzz around the town delivering everything from people to supplies for hotels and shops.
If you ever get the urge to visit a Swiss resort, even for a short time, visit Zermatt, you will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    65
    9
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Widen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This place is bundle of joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place offers something for everyone. Of course, the beauty and majesty of the Matterhorn is the highlight of Zermatt. Wherever you are in town, you can see the awesome peak in the distance.

Another thing I love about the town is it's ban on automobiles. Pedestrians (and bicyclists, etc) rule Zermatt. Wander the streets without fear of anything but the occassional city service vehicle.

The town itself is great, with an innumerable number of stores selling everything from beautifully decorated cuckoo clocks to shot glasses with a picture of the Matterhorn.

If you are a climber, try to negotiate your way past the many Japanese tourists with their humungous cameras and designer climbing outfits, and head towards the summit. (It was absolutely amazing the number of Japanese tourists that were in Zermatt, and they all wanted to climb the mountain!)

Zermatt is a small town, don't over look the importance of reservations if you plan to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great ski area, check out the Klum hotel at the top of Gornergrat, avoid the 30min drag lift to Italy unless you hate cable cars!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Marvellous Matterhorn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We returned to Zermatt in June for our 2nd. visit to this village with a little trepidation as we have always had a policy of never returning to a holiday destination.
Our fears were unfounded as Zermatt was all we remembered and more, as we were blessed with perfect weather.
If you decide to go I would suggest a package holiday staying Half Board as the food prices are high in the village, but with an excellent Breakfast and more than adequate Evening meal, plus complimentary coffee and cake in the afternoon it wasn't a problem.
Take advantage of the Swiss Card which gives 1/2 price travel, and see the area on foot and you won't need to break the bank.
There are walks in the area to suit all levels of expertise and fitness, and wherever you walk you will always have magnificent views of the Matterhorn, from the valley bottom, through the Alpine meadows to the heights above the snowline (in a cable car) I found myself constantly stopping to look at this beautiful awe inspiring mountain, and thinking about those brave, or foolhardy, depending on your point of view, people who first conquered its snow covered peak in the 19th century.
If you only visit Switzerland once in your lifetime, consider Zermatt, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lots of Terrain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We skied at Zermatt and Cervina (the Italian side) for 4 days at the end of February, 2012. We also went to Saas Fee (next valley over) for 4 days.
Overall, all 3 places were of basic intermediate level. Very nicely groomed (maybe a few runs tended to ice up after lunch). There was not enough snow for off-piste skiing. The hardest run had some moguls but even an advanced intermediate would be fine working their way down.
The variety of lifts ("undergrounds", chairs, furniculars, trams, gondolas, trains, etc) was really fun and we made sure that we did all of them at least once. Likewise, we did all of the main runs. I am sure there are a few secret runs the maps don't show; certainly the off-piste areas would be great IF there was more snow. (Saas-Fee had an abundance of pommalifts (due to the on-glacier site). The igloo camp was fun and different too.
The part I seem to talk about most now that I have returned is that we would start in Switzerland, view of the Matterhorn looming closer as we ascended, and then ski over into Italy for the day (and certainly for lunch) and then return at the end of the day. Sort of felt like James Bond! The Italians prefer cash (of any sort) so dont depend on your credit cards for lunch. Nice menus on the slope at both sides but particularly cheaper and nice change of pace on the Italian side. Just make sure to catch the lift back up before they close (unless you want to pay for an extra hotel room ..and carry your tooth brush!)
I could easily see going to this area in the summer for hiking too. If time, money, etc were not an issue, I would watch the weather and snow reports and fly in just as a major snow dump hit. It would be incredible skiing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.