We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hiking base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riffelberg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riffelberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riffelberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riffelberg 2600m, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful hiking base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent five nights in August at the Hotel Riffelberg above Zermatt; a wonderful base for many different hikes, comfortable hotel with very good kitchen -- took half pension and loved the dinners. Very friendly management: when I wanted to leave for one night at an Alpine hut, they let me keep my stuff in the room without charging me for that night (even though it was part of my reservation and past cancellation date). It was great being up above the village with terrific views all day and night, the Matterhorn directly in front of the hotel and trails starting from the front door. The Gornergratbahn made it easy to get to other hiking spots around Zermatt on a whim. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I followed Trip-Advisor guest recommendation and planned my 2 nights at Riffelberg. The description met my requirements, but I was apprehensive till I reached there. It was exactly what I wanted. Secluded, quiet, spendid view of Matterhorn. To top it, the staff were friendly, place was serene as it was off-season in Sept. And I was surprised to note that along with b/f, the dinner is also part of the package. It was truly great experience. I stayed in a single room, only the room was bit too small. But then at 2500+ mtr above, you don't expect big rooms. I had a great time.
Arijit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have spent 3 days at the hotel. It was a period of relaxation for us after a week of hectic touring and nothing could have been better than lying in bed and watch the clouds play around the Matterhorn. The Matterhorn changed every minute - it was interesting to watch all this from the comfort of your bed.. Coming back to the hotel - we had a double bed (twin beds joined together) on the 2nd floor facing the mountain, very clean, windows on both walls - facing the station and the other facing the mountain. Bathroom was clean with a tub and partition (in case one wanted to use the shower). TV with satellite (but no english channel, not that it mattered to us since we hardly watched), lots of storage space, charging points, etc. Getting to the hotel is a short walk downhill from the Riffelberg station on the Gornergrat Bahn. Getting the luggage back up the slope while leaving is a bit of a task - leave with plenty of time to spare keeping the train timing in mind :) The host helped us bring the luggage to our room on the 2nd floor. Dinner each day was to a set menu which changed, comprising of a colorful salad spread, soup, main course and dinner. We loved the salmon and rack of lambs. They also have local wine and beer. Breakfast also was a lavish affair - enough to fill you up and keep you going till late in the evening. Lots of trails to hike, you will love the place for it's location, tranquility and feeling of peace you get while there. We'll be going back for sure.

Room Tip: A room on the front side facing the Matterhorn is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A few days at Hotel Riffelberg will recharge your batteries and zest for life. Perched at 2,600 metres above sea level, and yet only a 15 min ride on a cog railway from the sleepy town of Zermatt down in the valley, you will be bowled over by the beauty of the mountains on all sides. The hotel, which featured in Ken Russell's 1969 film 'Women in Love', has retained much of its 19th century character with wooden paneling and old photos of the area over the past 150 years since the hotel was built.

However... the greatest asset of all is the young and totally dedicated staff who make you feel you are staying somewhere very special. Staying half board, after a few days of hearty breakfasts and imaginative four course evening meals, showing off local produce at its finest, you will soon realize there is no need for lunch. From the hotel there are at least 30 walks through the mountainous countryside.

Room Tip: From my bed in Room 32 I had an incredible view of the Matterhorn, framed in the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location. One of few ski-in / ski-out hotels in Zermatt. Incredible view over Matterhorn. A bit remote from the city, but it's more an advantage if you come for skiing

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is located at about 3000 mt on the marvellous Gornegrat just in front of the Matterhorn and in the middle of one of the best ski resort in the world! You can virtually get out of the hotel with your skis and the landscape is just stunning!
The hotel itself is nice and cosy: warm and typical alpine style rooms, lovely restaurant hall with a splendid view on the Matterhorn (Cervin), good food and a reasonable choice of wines available.
However, considering its price (not a standard 3 stars price) you would expect a better service. Breakfast service is very slow (you can wait up to 15 minutes before getting a coffee), as it is the bar and lunch service. You don't get much help when you arrive (it's not easy because you have to take a train from Zermatt and with all the luggage you would really appreciate some help!). You would also expect some extra services: massages, excursions, ecc. but nothing more than accomodation and food is provided (they only have a small sauna). Also, while people at the reception is very welcoming, other members of the staff are a bit rude and not very helpful.
Anyway, the place is so beautiful we utterly hope that these minor problems are swiftly resolved!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2010 and got a good last minute package. As you would expect for a hotel half way up a mountain, it is blissfully quiet. The meals are a set menu which made it feel more like a chalet holiday. Try and get a table in the restaurant next to the windows for the best views. Getting onto the slopes early and without the shuttle bus and queues for lifts etc which I think is one of the few downsides to Zermatt was a real treat. However, the last train up the mountain which goes all the way to the Riffleberg was before 8pm so you do miss out on the bars and nightlife of the town. I would recommend this for couples wanting peace and quiet or families who all ski.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riffelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riffelberg

Address: Riffelberg 2600m, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#34 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riffelberg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Riffelberg! 1855 celebrated the Hotel Riffelberg it’s opening at 2600m (8360 feet) altitude imides the splendid Zermatt mountain-world with a breathtaking view to the Matterhorn. Since than guests from all over the world feel here at home and enjoy the modern comfort and amenities of this hotel of the pioneering age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Riffelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riffelberg Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riffelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.