We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Zermatterhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Zermatterhof to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The Grand Hotel is aptly named for it is a splendid example of old world charm and modern amenities. The horse drawn carriage ride from the station was delightful. All of the hotel staff were friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. We relied on the concierge to recommend and make reservations at different restaurants each night we were there; never to be disappointed. The rooms were clean and bright with crisp white bed linens and soft duvets. Admittedly, the bedspreads were tired looking, so I simply folded them up and placed them in a closet. The rooms had flat screen TVs and internet options. The breakfast buffet which is included in the room price was a real treat with something appealing to every palate including morning mimosas. The Spa was outstanding with its beautiful pool, hot tub, steam rooms, sauna and ice grotto. Great relaxation after a day on the slopes. My husband treated himself to a most satisfactory massage a few times. Our overall experience for husband, wife and three teenage boys was very positive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    42
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
63
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

This hotel was a huge let down. They charged us ridiculously high rates for mediocre rooms. The staff for the most part was courteous. The restaurant was not great and the service terribly slow. What was unforgivable was when we paid our bill there was thousands of dollars of mistakes. Some mistakes they refused to retract. Many guests had a the same problems we did...please check your bills daily and keep copies. One day a charge will appear and the next day they produce a different bill for the same room it was like nothing we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CogoMD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

After reviewing all reports on where to stay for my one night in Zermatt, I choose the Zermatterhof despite one bad review. I have to say I was not disappointed. From the pick up at the train station, to the fabulous view, gracious staff, nice bar and terrific spa, it met or exceeded my expectations. Pricey but worth it and I would go back in a second, it is a Grande Dame.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Compared Top Hotels in Austria or Switzerland such as the Post in Lech or the Tschuggen in Arosa, this hotel does not match the level of its peers. We were very surprised to encounter a hotel which did not seem to invest in upgrades (very old rooms and bathrooms). We were shocked to see metal tables in the main dining room amongst wooden ones. Some of the staff appeared to be desinterested.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

This old-school and timeless beauty of a Hotel stands serene in the midst of the glorious town of Zermatt in the the swiss alps. My partner and I were lucky enough to be staying for 5 x nights in the Zermatterhof on a half board basis. The staff were so welcoming and attentive during our stay we were made to feel very special. The food was out of this world with gourmet dinners served each evening with perfect silver service. The spa was a welcome retreat after a hard day on the slopes and our bedroom was spacious and bright, overlooking the famous Matterhorn mountain. The only negative comment is that it is slightly overpriced, but this is a really special place so start saving!

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Nice hotel from the outside but nothing special

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Although Zermatt is charming-this hotel is anything but charming. The staff, especially in the dining room, are rude. The rooms are dark and dingy. They advertise that the rooms have been renovated-
DON'T believe them! Overall value for this stay was POOR!
You can't say you haven't been warned.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — too numerous to list
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Zermatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zermatterhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Zermatterhof 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Die Dimensionen des Seins erweitern Wenn Sie vom Grand Hotel Zermatterhof zur Spitze des Matterhorns blicken, erweitert sich Ihre Vorstellung von Grosse und Erhabenheit. Wenn Sie die Gastfreundschaft des Grand Hotel Zermatterhof in Anspruch nehmen, erweitert sich Ihr Begriff von Hotellerie: Sie finden bei uns Noblesse und Herzlichkeit, Stil und Lebensfreude, Eleganz und Sportlichkeit vereint. Der selbstverstandliche Komfort unseres traditionsreichen Hauses und die krauterduftende Alpenluft regenerieren den Geist und offnen die Seele fur neue Dimensionen des Seins. Ich freue mich, Sie bei uns personlich kennen lernen zu durfen. Rafael Biner, Direktor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Zermatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.