We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“people make the difference!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Zermatterhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Zermatterhof to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
istanbul
1 review
“people make the difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

just back from Zermatt-our first trip to this resort town.. Zermatt is a pretty village;a bit difficult to get to by road but lots to offer in terms of skiing.Our stay at Zermatterhof was an extremely pleasant experience.My wife and I travel to Alpine resorts every winter for the last 20 years.In doing so, we had the oppurtunity to try very many different hotels; some more boutique ,some more corporate but all 5 stars.Zermatterhoff stands out as one of the best-if not the best !The hotel offers everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel bearing the title of "Grand". But what makes this place a bit more special is its staff!.From the very moment we stepped in, we were greteed and treated like a frequent hotel guest ( well at times even possibly like the owners of the hotel ! ) that they all were truly delighted to see.Nothing was too difficult for them; our every little request was welcomed and fulfilled in no time- and always with a warm smile! It was a pleasure to chat up with every single person working at this hotel - from the ski room ( one of the best we have ever seen ) to the bar to the driver of the shuttle.Little touches like a farewel gift or complimentary drink add to the exceptional hospitality this hotel offers. Highly recommended to anyone who has a longing for old world charm-especially at a social level

Room Tip: room 314 facing mattehorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    42
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
63
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Zermatterhof was everything we hoped it would be and as always in these situations it was primarily due to the warmth and delightfulness of the staff. We say primarily because the hotel was pretty amazing too. Although large and certainly Grand, the hotel retained a personal feel both in the rooms (the main dining room for example is a beautiful luxurious yet intimate room) and the staff.

It would be impossible to single out anyone in particular - without question everyone was lovely. They arranged ski passes, ski equipment, a DVD player so we could watch our box set. The chap in the ski room takes your skis out to a taxi (that he arranges!), takes your skis back in from the taxi after skiing, pulls your boots off and puts them inside your personal locker on air heated boot racks, and is a font of knowledge about slopes, snow conditions, and restaurants on the mountain.

Whatever you want, they do. Quietly and efficiently, and with friendliness and charm. During your stay, this hotel is your friend. It comes alive through the individuals who give it character. There are the friendly and efficient concierges, Franz and Leo. The head waitress from Holland who is always smiling! The maitre d' who is grander than the wealthiest of guests but with a lovely demeanour. The witty waiter who tells you it is not a fair exchange to receive an empty latte glass when he brings you a full one and says he does nit accept gifts from strangers when you try to give him your bill!

This is a Grand Hotel like you would see in the movies.

By the way, they are also good in a crisis. I fell and partially tore a ligament. They got me a doctor, a taxi to the doctor and just took care of everything. Thank you!

A word about "taxigate" - yes it costs 12 CHF each way but the hotel is not cheap so if you can afford to stay there then 12 CHF isn't a big deal and really is nothing to get excited about. Besides, you can walk if you wish.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I can not possibly write enough to express what a fabulous time I had at the Zermatterhof. From beginning to end the staff was fabulous, helpful, sincere, and knowledgeable. I was treated like a king during my entire 7 night stay. The hotel is an antique gem, meticulously maintained without a single detail over looked. Breakfast fantastic, and staff extremely polite and efficient. Spa with full size pool, jacuzzi, 2 steam rooms, sauna, ice room, free fresh fruit, and multiple other facilities were immaculately clean and well maintained. My room was serviced twice per day, fresh fruit was in constant supply during my entire 7 night stay, coffee refilled twice per day, bathroom well stocked and immaculately clean at all times. The service did not stop there...the attendant in the ski room was so nice and helpful every morning going out, and every afternoon coming in. The front desk staff always greeted me by name and knew my room number without asking. It was a wonderful vacation which I was truly saddened to have to leave. When I go back next year I can not imagine staying anywhere else. The price was well in line with its competition in Zermatt. I will definitely return!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of the only 2 five-star grade hotel in zermatt, but I feel, it's some short to 5-star grade.
We stayed in delux double room, it was noisy, quite small, especially bath-room & tub. Furnitures looks old, were not luxuarious and even made creaking sounds.

Fortunately, the weather was so clean, so we could see the Matterhorn at our balcony, the view was very nice!

Breakfast in the restaurant was average. but egg-omlet was very delicious. 4-coruse meal dinner in the restaurant was good but not excellent.

Sauna & spa was very good, there were 4 different kinds of sauna rooms and resting area that had couches, some fruites and hot tea. swimming pool and jacuzzi were also convenient to recover from fatigue.

Many staffs were very young, not so skillful but kind and trying to help.

Most of all, Send-off service by 2-horse-carrige was wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazing hotel and worth every penny. Elias at the concierge desk is great. The whole staff is friendly and attentive. If you are wondering about the included breakfast buffet, don't, it will make you late for the ski lifts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for four days as a family. The breakfast is good by European standards but seemed to be limiting when one returned for several days as it was the same thing everyday. The hotel is manned by a very friendly young staff. It is a bit further on the edge of Zermatts Main Street but this is good as it is quiet at night. The steam rooms and ice rooms are a lot of fun, but the no costume policy is a bit uncomfortable, surely if towels are allowed costumes should also be? The hotel is elegantly decorated but the rooms duvets seemed a bit lower standard than the rest of the furnishings. Heated towels were however a very nice touch. The free soft drinks in the mini bar were also very nice but there was only coffee when it came to a hot selection, no tea?

All in all it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof for the first time in early September. At the start of my holiday, I wanted to experience some of the delights that I had heard others talking about and I was not disappointed! I arrived after a 30 hour non-stop journey from Australia to be greeted warmly and professionally.

The wonderful staff at this hotel are true professionals in every sense of the word! The warm welcome from Kerstin at Reception and Herr Imboden, the wonderful Concierge (and a member of the prestigious, international Les Clefs D'Or) made me feel instantly welcome and set the scene for the start of my four weeks in Switzerland. At every point of contact, all hotel staff treat you as if you are a guest in their own home, I have travelled widely and have never encountered such a wonderful group of people in the industry. They cannot do enough for you!

My room was delightful, it faced the front of the property and had an amazing view of the Matterhorn, which is mesmerising, and there awaiting me was a lovely arrangement of fruit and a welcome card from the hotel owner. Room service was excellent and the hotel spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfasts and service were also excellent and certainly set you up for a busy day up in the high alps.

I was very sorry to leave the hotel at the end of the week. On check-out I was presented with a lovely departure gift and to my surprise, if that was not enough, these delightful people had organised something very special for me as a final farewell gesture: to take me to the Zermatt station, the hotel's lovely open carriage with coachman and two horses arrived! What a surprise, I felt like royalty! (Thank you, Kerstin and Herr Imboden)! To these people, they were only doing their job, but they do it so well!

They have absolutely won my loyalty and affection and I will be returning there next year. I hope the hotel management read this review and I am sure they will agree with me when I say that their staff are the best!!

Do stay at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof - its excellent reputation is so well-deserved and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have balconies and you will have a wonderful view of the Matterhorn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Zermatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zermatterhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Zermatterhof 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Die Dimensionen des Seins erweitern Wenn Sie vom Grand Hotel Zermatterhof zur Spitze des Matterhorns blicken, erweitert sich Ihre Vorstellung von Grosse und Erhabenheit. Wenn Sie die Gastfreundschaft des Grand Hotel Zermatterhof in Anspruch nehmen, erweitert sich Ihr Begriff von Hotellerie: Sie finden bei uns Noblesse und Herzlichkeit, Stil und Lebensfreude, Eleganz und Sportlichkeit vereint. Der selbstverstandliche Komfort unseres traditionsreichen Hauses und die krauterduftende Alpenluft regenerieren den Geist und offnen die Seele fur neue Dimensionen des Seins. Ich freue mich, Sie bei uns personlich kennen lernen zu durfen. Rafael Biner, Direktor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Zermatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.