We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Findlerhof

Findlerhof
Findeln 2051m, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
027 - 967 25 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 181 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Findlerhof was recommended to us twice so for that reason, we gave it the highly prized allocation of "Last Lunch In Zermatt", and it did not disappoint. We arrived late and without a booking (sacrilege...) but luckily found a little corner in the sunshine with blankets (apparently it was one of the coldest Marches ever, that day topped -25 C). The service was a little slow but we almost expected that considering the insane popularity of this mountain hideout.
The rosti was delicious, as was the wine. If only we'd arrived earlier so we could be as merry as the rest of the diners!
Findlerhof, it seems, is an institution and one not to be missed. Make sure you hold on to the rope - on the way down you'll probably fall on your behind and on the way up you might just face plant...!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    25
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“deliecious and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

great terrasse to sit outside, very fine food (try the veal chop) superb wine list, rather expensive, reservation needed

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Mountain Restaurant, so worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Zermatt is the Premier League of Mountain Lunches, and Findlerhof got the Gold Medal from the Mrs. Note: while Mr. gives the prize to Fluhalp by a nose for dramatic setting, Mrs. gives it to Findlerhof for charm. The passage through the village of Findeln is adorable, but definitely grab that rope during some of the treacherous parts of the path. Food is stunning, exquisite view of The Mountain, and great sense of accomplishment getting there, and staff absolutely charming.

Reservations a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I don't usually follow the advice of travel / food articles, because I often think that my high expectations won't be met. Can't say enough about the Findlerhof. The view and location are amazing, the food is outstanding and the service was excellent. We stopped in while skiing and they were willing to squeeze us in for lunch. The lunch was really great and I never cared about how much we paid.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best lunch/view/terrace in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved Findlerhof! We had lunch twice on the terrace and the food was as spectacular as the view. Pasta du patron, lamb, steak tartare, sashimi, everything was delicious and just right. Also the way the terraces were on different levels, the place disn't feel crowded at all. It is a bit of a challenge to climb down but definitely worth it. Also the prices of drinks were very reasonable compaired to other much less classy places in Zermatt.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Findlerhof also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Findlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Findlerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.