We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top food and exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Julen

Restaurant Julen
Riedstrasse 2 | 3920, Zermatt, Switzerland
+41 27 966 76 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $59
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Time for specialeaties. Time for Tradition Julen. "Everyone is welcome in Restaurant Julen." That was as important for Meinrad Julen as it is today for the third generation of the family business. In the morning local workers stop by for their coffee break, at noon the traditional cuisine attracts businessmen, families and passers-by, and in the evening the cozy restaurant serves gourmet food based in traditional cuisine. New menus are created daily with love and passion. From the salad bar to beef tenderloin and lamb specialties to the hearty cheese fondue and dessert buffet on Thursdays, the a la carte menu has something for all tastes. Enjoy our carefully selected assortment of international wines. Make sure to reserve a table early!
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Top food and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were choosing between this and another restaurant in Zermatt, and our hotel passionately recommended this one. We booked and when we arrived, the restaurant was reasonably empty, but was packed by the time we left. It's not hard to see why. The food is exceptional, and reviewers mentioning the lamb are not wrong. We also shared a cheese fondue to start...it was interesting as it had a large portion of alcohol in it (wine and schnapps apparently). I think this plus a bottle of wine and an aperitif to finish left us a bit tipsy. The service was also exceptional, we were mostly served by Lisa who was very helpful, always had a smile and engaged in chat with all the customers rather than just being there to take orders and bring food. We were delighted with the experience and would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Julen's sister hotel Hotel Daniela and had booked halfboard. This was served in this restaurant.

We are both very picky eaters but the fact that each course (!!) had to choices ensured that we both were able to find at least one choice we liked. Having been offered a 5-course meal we were worried that the individual courses might be very small but were surprised to find these very reasonable so at the end we were more than full. And for all this we were given a special offer from the hotel for CHF35 per person (Sign outside the hotel advertised the same menu for CHF62!!)

The food was very very good, the salad buffet very generous and the service was excellent. Each evening the landlord/lady walked through the restaurant and had a brief chat with all guests. The service was quick and without mistakes. The waiters were friendly and always smiling. A special thank you to Christian who had us in stiches with laughing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukdani80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Best fondue in town. Great food and service. The wine selection is quite wide and the owner/waiters are always available for suggestions. overall not expensive, considered the currency and location.
Definitely worth trying and going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francescocrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just get the lamb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The first time we visited the restaurant we were wowed - the lamb chops were a good portion and delicious. The second time was a huge let down as the oversalted pork dish was inedible and we were still charged for it. It's hit or miss so just stick to the lamb dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A set menu, a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The decor in this hotel's restaurant is charming and elegant. We received outstanding service as well as food. The apricot ice cream will be remembered for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FWFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Julen also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Julen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing