We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A set menu, a great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Julen

Restaurant Julen
Riedstrasse 2 | 3920, Zermatt, Switzerland
+41 27 966 76 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 177 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $19 - $68
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary, Organic, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Time for specialeaties. Time for Tradition Julen. "Everyone is welcome in Restaurant Julen." That was as important for Meinrad Julen as it is today for the third generation of the family business. In the morning local workers stop by for their coffee break, at noon the traditional cuisine attracts businessmen, families and passers-by, and in the evening the cozy restaurant serves gourmet food based in traditional cuisine. New menus are created daily with love and passion. From the salad bar to beef tenderloin and lamb specialties to the hearty cheese fondue and dessert buffet on Thursdays, the a la carte menu has something for all tastes. Enjoy our carefully selected assortment of international wines. Make sure to reserve a table early!
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A set menu, a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The decor in this hotel's restaurant is charming and elegant. We received outstanding service as well as food. The apricot ice cream will be remembered for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    37
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cannes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you like anything around LAMB, this the place. Also for swiss cheeses, like fondue and so on. The crew is nice and charming, always taking attention. The young boss comes to ask if anything is fine. A stübli is open under the restaurant but unfortunately we didn't try it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“The lamb is primo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We checked in at the Romantik Hotel Julen for a three night stay. Since it is low season in Zermatt and the time of day didn't allow much exploration, we decided to play it safe and reserve dinner at their restaurant. The five courses were more than filling. The service was above average and the culinary presentation was excellent. While all of the courses were very good, the lamb chop appetizer was astounding. Cooked to perfection and seasoned just right. We would highly recommend the lamb offering(s). We also look forward to trying their casual stubli once it is open on Tuesday night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Upon arriving at (opening) dinner time, my wife and I noticed a considerably large group of people in front of the entrance. We thought there would be a long wait for a table, but was pleasantly surprised to find that the group had already eaten, and was just socializing.

The staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. Very tolerant of our poor Dutch language skills, and they spoke very good english, and helped bridge the language barrier. The prices were the prices, but the food and service was excellent. If we go back to Zermat, we will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the few places currently open (May)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ended up going twice to this restaurant as it was one of the only few places open during the low season. The lamb dishes were excellent - the lamb rack is worth a special mention, the meat was just so tender and juicy. Prices are average for Zermatt, and as for all other nice places it is recommended to book a table in advance, even in low season.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Julen also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Julen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Julen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.