We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Schaeferstube

Restaurant Schaeferstube
Romantik Hotel Julen, | Daniela & Paul Julen, Riedstrasse 2,, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 966 76 00
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 172 restaurants in Zermatt
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal in this little restaurant it is down stairs in a hotel, our only complaint was that it was very warm & on a nice day there were no fans or open windows which could of made it more comfortable. We ordered a rack of lamb which came out in two separate serves It had a nice flavor & was cooked perfectly the owner is passionate about his lamb & it shows. If you like lamb give it a try you won't be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    120
    44
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Of lamb, of men”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you crave either lamb or sheep meat, this is terminated lamb or sheep heaven. Excellent service and preparation. Very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ditto on this being lamb heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved the dinner at this restaurant so much that we came back again the next evening for our last evening meal in Zermatt. The family that runs this restaurant also raise sheep in fields surrounding Zermatt so lamb is their specialty and did it ever show given the lamb dish that I ordered twice. Not only were the servings large but it was the most tender lamb that I have ever eaten and the wild garlic mousse that they served on top of it was fabulous as well. This was clearly the best meal that we ate during our 9 day vacation in Switzerland. Highly recommend eating here to visitors to zermatt

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lamb Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Seeing the Matterhorn welcoming us as we crossed the river was already a sign of things to come.
The moment we entered the doors, we were greeted by the friendly owners and a cosy & warm ambience.
After reading the reviews we had to try the lamb. We started off with the Lamb carpaccio ... we have tasted the good beef versions before buy this was really good too with no overpowering smell of lamb.
The rack of lamb was simply put ... THE BEST LAMB we have tasted. And we love our meat believe me. Juicy and tender and done just right ... A rosy medium rare ... We were simply in lamb heaven.
Overall a wonderful experience and although the price was a little high, I guess a slice of heaven does have its price!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is a great place for meat lovers. Best lamb I ever had in Zermatt. The dishes deliciously made with tasty flavor. I have been to this restaurant with my family and we all were satisfied of the food. The staff was friendly too. I would recommend it and if I will return again to Zermatt I would definitely go to this restaurant again. Don’t miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Schaeferstube also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Schaeferstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Schaeferstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.