We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Schaeferstube

Restaurant Schaeferstube
Romantik Hotel Julen, | Daniela & Paul Julen, Riedstrasse 2,, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 966 76 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 178 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a great meal in this little restaurant it is down stairs in a hotel, our only complaint was that it was very warm & on a nice day there were no fans or open windows which could of made it more comfortable. We ordered a rack of lamb which came out in two separate serves It had a nice flavor & was cooked perfectly the owner is passionate about his lamb & it shows. If you like lamb give it a try you won't be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    85
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Of lamb, of men”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you crave either lamb or sheep meat, this is terminated lamb or sheep heaven. Excellent service and preparation. Very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ditto on this being lamb heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved the dinner at this restaurant so much that we came back again the next evening for our last evening meal in Zermatt. The family that runs this restaurant also raise sheep in fields surrounding Zermatt so lamb is their specialty and did it ever show given the lamb dish that I ordered twice. Not only were the servings large but it was the most tender lamb that I have ever eaten and the wild garlic mousse that they served on top of it was fabulous as well. This was clearly the best meal that we ate during our 9 day vacation in Switzerland. Highly recommend eating here to visitors to zermatt

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lamb Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Seeing the Matterhorn welcoming us as we crossed the river was already a sign of things to come.
The moment we entered the doors, we were greeted by the friendly owners and a cosy & warm ambience.
After reading the reviews we had to try the lamb. We started off with the Lamb carpaccio ... we have tasted the good beef versions before buy this was really good too with no overpowering smell of lamb.
The rack of lamb was simply put ... THE BEST LAMB we have tasted. And we love our meat believe me. Juicy and tender and done just right ... A rosy medium rare ... We were simply in lamb heaven.
Overall a wonderful experience and although the price was a little high, I guess a slice of heaven does have its price!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is a great place for meat lovers. Best lamb I ever had in Zermatt. The dishes deliciously made with tasty flavor. I have been to this restaurant with my family and we all were satisfied of the food. The staff was friendly too. I would recommend it and if I will return again to Zermatt I would definitely go to this restaurant again. Don’t miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Schaeferstube also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Schaeferstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Schaeferstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.