We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat in Zermatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CERVO Zermatt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CERVO Zermatt to your Saves list
CERVO Zermatt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful retreat in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Cervo in late June 2013. We loved everything about the hotel from the incredible jnr suite with amazing view of the Matterhorn to the great service in the restaurant and at breakfast. We loved the wonderful suggestions for hiking given to us each morning at breakfast by Ali who was a fountain of knowledge - and nothing was too much trouble for him. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it! The hotel is away from the centre of town but very easy to get to by a lift just across the road which takes you down to town level then its a 5 minute walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: We were two adults and a child so the junior suite was absolutely perfect for us as there was a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
273
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting, but be aware it is a hike from town, even with the elevator. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, spotless, and perfectly equipped. Wifi is available in the room, but signal went off a couple of times. Unfortunately, views of the Matterhorn are increasingly challenged by tree growth. Service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked a 5 night hike package in August which was great value for a fantastic vacation at a design hotel. Staff and service were excellent and we look forward to visiting again in winter. Location is excellent and our room had a fantastic view of the Matterhorn.
It was

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just came back from an awesome 5 day stay at the resort. The resort is high above Zermatt, accessible by a neat outdoor elevator across the road plus a short 5 minute walk to the center of town.

The staff was really friendly and accomodating. Our first room in chalet 2 faced the outdoor lounge and so was a bit noisy. They changed our room to chalet 3, farther from the restaurant and main reception but quieter.

Our room was very nicely decorated and had wonderful views of the mountains. We liked that there was a coffee/tea maker in the room. A note to the shy, the bathroom is closed off by sliding wooden slatted doors, so one can actually look inside even when closed. Thankfully, the door to the toilet inside the bathroom was solid!

The breakfast was ample (fruit, cereal, pastries, smoked fish, cheese---plus you could order eggs). We did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service one night. The food was perfectly cooked and even our fries were crispy. The only critique is that the prices of the room service menu did not seem updated (it was higher) and there is a room service charge of CHF8, which was perfectly fair but which I didn't recall seeing on the menu.

We would definitely visit again and would highly recommend Cervo to anyone visiting Zermatt.

Room Tip: Rooms in Chalet 3 and 4 are farther from the main reception/restaurant but do not face out to the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
205 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cervo is all it's cracked up to be; a comforting, unique and welcoming boutique hotel with many many great 'pluses', including a great view of the Matterhorn, elevator to and from town level, great design and a friendly staff. Our visit during the off season (August) meant very (very) limited spa availability; it wasn't kept up very well when it was open. Laundry carts in the hallway more often than not. Might have caught them on an off day, but still. . .

That said, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The CERVO was spectacular. The room was spotless, beautiful and had a wonderful view out over Zermatt. The hotel had very easy access to the town, yet felt separate due to its elevation. The food was outstanding, the service was perfect and facility is immaculate. We would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived to a very personal, friendly greeting, including a glass of fine wine and left feeling happy and relaxed!
The rooms are cozy, spacious and well equiped; the staff are flexible, competent and friendly. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CERVO Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CERVO Zermatt

Address: Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — CERVO Zermatt 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKE HOME: CERVO When you enter the CERVO, there’s not a revolving door in sight. No, to enter the CERVO you take the small almost private entrance – appropriate to a homely chic chalet, which has been family-owned for generations. Once inside there’s a simple table. A telephone. And a warm welcoming smile. In fact you feel much more than welcome. You feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your CERVO Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Zermatt Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CERVO Zermatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.