We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CERVO Zermatt

Save Saved
You added CERVO Zermatt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CERVO Zermatt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting, but be aware it is a hike from town, even with the elevator. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, spotless, and perfectly equipped. Wifi is available in the room, but signal went off a couple of times. Unfortunately, views of the Matterhorn are increasingly challenged by tree growth. Service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    31
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
242
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked a 5 night hike package in August which was great value for a fantastic vacation at a design hotel. Staff and service were excellent and we look forward to visiting again in winter. Location is excellent and our room had a fantastic view of the Matterhorn.
It was

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just came back from an awesome 5 day stay at the resort. The resort is high above Zermatt, accessible by a neat outdoor elevator across the road plus a short 5 minute walk to the center of town.

The staff was really friendly and accomodating. Our first room in chalet 2 faced the outdoor lounge and so was a bit noisy. They changed our room to chalet 3, farther from the restaurant and main reception but quieter.

Our room was very nicely decorated and had wonderful views of the mountains. We liked that there was a coffee/tea maker in the room. A note to the shy, the bathroom is closed off by sliding wooden slatted doors, so one can actually look inside even when closed. Thankfully, the door to the toilet inside the bathroom was solid!

The breakfast was ample (fruit, cereal, pastries, smoked fish, cheese---plus you could order eggs). We did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service one night. The food was perfectly cooked and even our fries were crispy. The only critique is that the prices of the room service menu did not seem updated (it was higher) and there is a room service charge of CHF8, which was perfectly fair but which I didn't recall seeing on the menu.

We would definitely visit again and would highly recommend Cervo to anyone visiting Zermatt.

Room Tip: Rooms in Chalet 3 and 4 are farther from the main reception/restaurant but do not face out to the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cervo is all it's cracked up to be; a comforting, unique and welcoming boutique hotel with many many great 'pluses', including a great view of the Matterhorn, elevator to and from town level, great design and a friendly staff. Our visit during the off season (August) meant very (very) limited spa availability; it wasn't kept up very well when it was open. Laundry carts in the hallway more often than not. Might have caught them on an off day, but still. . .

That said, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The CERVO was spectacular. The room was spotless, beautiful and had a wonderful view out over Zermatt. The hotel had very easy access to the town, yet felt separate due to its elevation. The food was outstanding, the service was perfect and facility is immaculate. We would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived to a very personal, friendly greeting, including a glass of fine wine and left feeling happy and relaxed!
The rooms are cozy, spacious and well equiped; the staff are flexible, competent and friendly. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in the Cervo for a romantic gataway with my husband. Great location, great hotel and very polite staff. We were also blessed to have the most incredible weather so nothing could be more perfect.
Just only little detail to be pointed out. Due to a recent surgery operation my husbain asked the reception for a long chair in the patio instead of the one usually provided from the hotel. At first at tha reception they told us that that kind of chair was only for the Spa, than when we said that other clients in other rooms had the long chair they told us tey would have provided us with one as well (this never happened). After asking two time for the same question we just gave up. So, my hubby was never able to seat on the patio and enjoy the view of Matter Horn. Too bad.
Anyway, will be back in Cervo again soon (hopefully with more luck on the long chair!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CERVO Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CERVO Zermatt

Address: Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — CERVO Zermatt 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKE HOME: CERVO When you enter the CERVO, there’s not a revolving door in sight. No, to enter the CERVO you take the small almost private entrance – appropriate to a homely chic chalet, which has been family-owned for generations. Once inside there’s a simple table. A telephone. And a warm welcoming smile. In fact you feel much more than welcome. You feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your CERVO Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Zermatt Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CERVO Zermatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.