We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, chill, stylish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CERVO Zermatt

Save Saved
You added CERVO Zermatt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CERVO Zermatt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hip, chill, stylish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at Cervo, end of ski season 2013. It was the perfect place to spend afternoons and evenings after being on the mountain. Ski out from Sunegga, and it dumps you right at Cervo's stylish but relaxed bar and terrace. Nice music selection. Excellent choice of wine and liquor. Hendricks gin and Fever Tree tonic--perfect! Really great food--burgers, tartar, and, especially, the risotto. Breakfast was fantastic, as well. Coffee, croissants, eggs, all prepared perfectly and delivered with good service. The private spa in each chalet is great. I had the jacuzzi to myself every time I used it. Minor issue with the sauna not being hot enough the second day, but we didn't point this out to the hotel, so not their fault. We booked the smallest, corner room. It sufficed for two or three days. I fear it would have been a bit cramped for a longer stay. View from side deck is beautiful--full on view of Matterhorn. Beds very comfortable. Daily bottles of water provided, which was a nice touch, as were the cookies and plums. Would most definitely recommend this lovely boutique hotel...we were not disappointed, and will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Opt for a bigger room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
250
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Whilst spending some holidays in Switzerland we stayed a few days in Zermatt and booked a room at this hotel and it was not cheap, but WOW!!! Really an amazing place just perfect for couples looking for a nice and relaxing retreat! The service was one of the best we ever received in Switzerland! The rooms are nicely designed reflecting the local culture and many lovely details. The food at the restaurant was amazing...i often travel and consider myself a "clubsandwich expert"....their "no ordinary clubsandwich" was just delicious and so was the salad and many other dishes. Breakfast was very nice too and we just had one major complaint; our stay was way too short ;-)
We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Amazing hotel that has it all: stunning views of the Matterhorn, extremely friendly staff, beautiful rooms and great spa. High attention to all the details. Regarding the food: breakfast choice is superb and also the rasturant is first choice. We loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Cervo in Mar 2013 for a high-energy skiing vacation in the "spa" room with outdoor hottub. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and large, but the level of service was unimpressive given the reputation and price.

First of all, the hotel staff arranged and confirmed in advance of our visit a dinner reservation at a town restaurant for 7 people for a birthday dinner. Despite the confirmation (twice in fact), the reservation was not made properly, and we were forced to organize another alternative. I would not expect such an error for a hotel lauded for service.

As another example--the hot tub was set and locked to a very low temp (38C/100F)--and it took two days for the hotel to increase the temp. Even then they left it "locked." If you're charging >$500/night for a room, trying to prevent a client from changing the temperature on a hottub is ridiculous. The other feature of the spa room was a steam shower, which was also broken for two days.

Despite the few negatives, our stay was generally positive, and the food at the hotel restaurant excellent.

That said, the

Room Tip: Stay a little further away from the lobby (not Chalet 5) for quieter nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfl79, Inhaber at CERVO Zermatt, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear alpinecow

Thank you vey much for your feedback which we highly appreciate since we are concerned to deliver a very high level of quality in service. Therefore we are terribly sorry that it didn`t work out the best way in your case.

We did make a mistake with your dinner reservation which has originally been done properly but communicated the wrong way to you, which ends up being the same for you. We do understand that this was very unpleasant for you although we did manage to organize a suitable alternative and we apologize very much.

Concerning the hot tub you are right about the delay. 2 days are way too long to wait for a change. But please let us explain the reason for it staying locked. This is due to health and safety restrictions. We are not allowed to leave the temperature control unlocked because of liability issues.

We are happy to hear that your stay was generally positive and would love to have you back in order to convince you that the negatives were unfortunate coincidences.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Daniel F. Lauber
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed in ski resort hotels all over the globe, and I've never seen a better-designed ski hotel anywhere in the world. Every detail here is beautifully considered and intelligently practical, while maintaining a high-quality sense of style that's unfussy, warm and immediately comfortable. The CERVO is truly a top-notch property.

The architecture, construction, materials and textures are all modern, solid, cool and inviting. For a brand new hotel, this place was clearly built to last.

The staff are -- without exception -- genuine, helpful and fun. From the breakfast staff to the bartenders and front desk agents, everyone is more than willing to help. They truly understand hospitality, and they've all got perfect English.

Each chalet here has its very own wellness spa, complete with sauna, steam room and hot tub; they're never crowded. The on-site bar and restaurant have amazing food, and each afternoon there's a chilled-out crowd for après-ski. It's a great place to relax.

The views are impeccable. You wake up to stunning views of the Matterhorn. At twilight, you can gaze down on the lights of the town as alpenglow lights up the snowy peaks surrounding you. I'd love to come back in the summer.

The town and the lifts are super easy to access. The hotel sits comfortably up the hill from the center of town -- which means there's no street noise from late night drunks coming home from the bars -- but there's an easy lift just steps from the front door, and it delivers you directly to the entrance to the Sunnega Paradise funicular. There's a bus stop right there, too -- which whisk you directly to the Matterhorn Paradise lifts.

My friends and I who stayed here for a week couldn't stop raving about this hotel. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A year after our first visit, we would continue to highly recommend the Cervo hotel. Best view in Zermatt, great accommodation, superb food and freindly vibe. And, right on the slopes. Any issues we had were rapidly attended to. All round, a fabulopus place to stay, and we will be back. (The only complaint I had relates to the noisy children in our chalet.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located at the end of the slopes so great ski in ski out. On a nice day, after a day of skiing, meeting friends in the hotel outdoor bar with the live music is nothing but a joy. great drinks and lively ambiance.

The only feedback I would give the hotel is related to the check in exprience and the briefing about the village, the elevator to the town, the opening hours of the restaurants etc... you will get answers to all these questions only if you ask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CERVO Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CERVO Zermatt

Address: Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — CERVO Zermatt 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKE HOME: CERVO When you enter the CERVO, there’s not a revolving door in sight. No, to enter the CERVO you take the small almost private entrance – appropriate to a homely chic chalet, which has been family-owned for generations. Once inside there’s a simple table. A telephone. And a warm welcoming smile. In fact you feel much more than welcome. You feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your CERVO Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Zermatt Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CERVO Zermatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.