We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations, convenient ski in-ski out, but expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CERVO Zermatt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CERVO Zermatt to your Saves list
CERVO Zermatt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Geneva
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations, convenient ski in-ski out, but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We reserved a Junior Suite for one week during the "off" season (January). The room was beautiful, large and comfortable. But based on online pictures, the smaller rooms do not appear as comfortable and look a bit small. There are very few places in Zermatt with ski in-ski out, so that feature is great. Hotel is a bit out of the way, but it is very easy to get to downtown area via elevator next to hotel. Bar and restaurant are very good but expensive like the hotel. Very few freebies here -- you pay for everything. But we did not think the overall cost was outrageous for Zermatt, especially considering the very high quality of the accommodations, restaurant and staff (who all speak excellent English and usually several other languages). One caveat: do not share a room with someone you do not know well. The bathrooms in the smaller rooms and junior suite are open air with the rest of the room (see pics online) so there is not much privacy.

Room Tip: If you will be there for more than a few days, spend a bit more for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel last September,bear in mind it is the end of the summer season and not quite the beginning of the winter season,so it was very quiet.For people wanting to see the town of Zermatt it is an easy train ride in and very scenic.If you call ahead to the Cervo they will pick you up at the train station.
We had a small corner room with a lie in bed view of the Matterhorn!WOW!The room was great,ultra modern,but still chalet in feel.Everything in this hotel is done with class.
We had dinner in the hotel,we were actually the only guests in the restaurant but for some reason we did'nt feel wierd!The staff made us feel right at home.Dinner was excellent!!
We had breakfast included in the room rate back in the restaurant,and it was fantastic.
I cannot recommend this hotel and town enough for a fall hiking trip.It is a must see.
Everything gets a 10/10....book it already!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank getcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This Resort has just everything you could possibly want! From a superb breakfast served in a cozy chalet restaurant, to direct access to the ski area to a outdoor jacuzzi to very nice rooms. Definitely great!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quattromonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour au mois de décembre au CERVO. Tout a été merveilleux, l'accueil, les chambres, l'architecture, la gentillesse du personnel, la nourriture... seul bémol, le soin de massage qui a été en dessous de la moyenne et ne vaut pas son prix. L'accueil y a certes été sympathique, mais l'ambiance un peu "clinique" et les gestes de la masseuse très approximatifs et peu précis. Un peu de musique (inexistante) n'aurait pas non plus dérangé pour un massage "relaxant"... ça ne nous empêchera pas de revenir au CERVO, dont nous avons globalement été très satisfaits, mais pour le massage, nous irons ailleurs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I booked Cervo on the strength of glowing reviews and positive media features...all accurate! This stylish boutique hotel perfectly marries a hip and stylish take on a traditional Swiss alpine chalet, with all mod-cons and comforts. We stayed in one of the ‘chalets' just steps away from the main house. Our Classic room was perfectly spacious and featured a little balcony with deck chairs offering breathtaking views of the Matterhorn.

Food (and service) was superb from the generous breakfast spread each morning to a very tasty lunch and dinner too. I recommend their take on fondue...delicious! The buzzy bar was also the perfect stop for an aperitif pre and post dinner. Cervo also boats an amazing terrace overlooked by the Matterhorn, though on this visit it was just a tad too cold to stay outside for long to properly enjoy it.

I was slightly concerned about the hillside location, but this proved an advantage as the adjacent elevator takes you down to the village (and the main cable car station) in a matter of minutes. So you can enjoy the best of both worlds - a mountain retreat but close enough to the action too.

It’s hard to find fault with Cervo as it truly is that perfect combination of stylish decor, fantastic food, great service, stunning location...what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Cervo is the best mountain hotel/lodge that we have experienced. The rooms, facilities and the view are great, the architecture wonderful and the location above the town is very nice. We ate in the restaurant each evening and can fully recommend it. All staff were very pleasant, attentive and seemed very natural and at ease. The whole place has a great feel to it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BomBom033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Everything about the Cervo is superb! But the hospitality extended to us made our stay even more special and memorable! The hotel owners and every staff member made us feel welcome and at home. They took time to get to know us and went out of their way to meet our needs. As noted in other reviews the room was spacious, spotless and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, and there were plenty of large, thick towels and toiletries in the bathroom.

Our room had a spectacular, unobstructed view of the Matterhorn! One morning we enjoyed the golden glow of the sun’s reflection on the mountain and the next morning we were surprised by the mountain peeking through vibrant pink cotton candy clouds!

We had lunch and dinner at their restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The continental breakfast was very good and included eggs, bacon, and pancakes upon request.

The hotel is located in the woods above Zermatt and is a very tranquil escape from the busy town. However, it is an easy 10 minute walk to shopping and dining via the mountain elevator.

If you plan to visit Zermatt, this is the only place to stay!

Room Tip: Request a room in building 1 for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CERVO Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CERVO Zermatt

Address: Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — CERVO Zermatt 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKE HOME: CERVO When you enter the CERVO, there’s not a revolving door in sight. No, to enter the CERVO you take the small almost private entrance – appropriate to a homely chic chalet, which has been family-owned for generations. Once inside there’s a simple table. A telephone. And a warm welcoming smile. In fact you feel much more than welcome. You feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your CERVO Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Zermatt Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing