We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gitan Grill

Le Gitan Grill
Bahnhofstrasse 64, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 968 19 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 178 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The sizzling “holzfeuer” is the centrepiece of Le Gitan, creating an immediate warm and welcoming atmosphere at the forefront of the restaurant. You can wet your appetite by watching all the action from your table; our chef prepares all our grills over the wood fire. Specialities include lamb, prawns, beef and spit-roasted chicken tarragon.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Consistency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Gitan first in 1975 and since than many more times. If you are good, you do not always have to re-invent yourself. We love this family run place, first with the Parents Darioli, now son and daughter in law. Their employees stay working for them many years, some over 40. The meat quality is outstanding, the service professional and attentif. One can never fail in here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    58
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quaint, romantic dining in Zermatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Charming, attentive waiter and amiable chef/owner spent time chatting with us at our table. The open fire grill, fueled by wood, gave our Entrecôte a very special dimension. The grilled vegetables, risotto and potatoes au gratin rounded out this very delicious meal. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ate at Le Gitan after reading reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The food was cooked to perfection, though the portions were fairly small. The highlight has to be the items cooked on the open barbecue - very authentic and which gave off a dreamy smell as you wandered through to your table.
The wine list is good. The desserts are fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We first visited the Gitan 4 years ago and were delighted by the experience. The food is really good.
Therefore during our last stay in Zermatt we naturally went back.
And the food is still really good. However the service is average for the relatively high prices you pay. It was efficient and objectively they did nothing wrong except that we couldn't feel any warmth and sympathy. Something was missing. The fact that they have 2 seatings in the evening doesn't really help since the waiters must work faster.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Still brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

3rd time and still great. Service professional and friendly and food excellent. We ate lamb fillet - wonderful and tiger prawns in lime and ginger - perfect.

We went on a Wednesday evening and it was full and everyone appeared to be having a great time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gitan Grill also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Le Gitan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gitan Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.