We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly service, cozy fireplace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Hotel Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly service, cozy fireplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

For the second half of our ski vacation, we found the Hotel Phoenix, just a short walk from the center of downtown Zermatt and the rail station. We were greeted right off the bat with an upgrade to a superior room (the mid-level) from our reserved standard room. This was a great fit for our admittedly American hotel standards. The room had what I believe was a king size bed (although it appears that in Switzerland and much of Europe, the "king size" bed is actually two twins pushed together). This wasn't too bad though, because there wasn't an obvious 'seam' between the two, and my husband and I slept well, especially after long skiing days.

Included in the room rate was a full Swiss breakfast each morning, consisting of a selection of breads, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats, juice, water, milk, and coffee. Pretty much anything one might need before heading out to the slopes.

While there was no dinner/restaurant in the hotel, there was a lovely lounge with a warm fireplace and a full bar. On our last night, when my husband and I had gotten a little weary of eating out every night, we brought back a few snacks from the grocery store and enjoyed them by the fire with a couple of glasses of wine. It was a great end to a great ski vacation.

There is a ski storage room on the main level for storing skis and boots which was a great convenience. Also, the hotel is located just one block up the hill from the free ski bus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
104
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I agree with other positive reviewers. Staff was very helpful to me, for example in locating the dentist and listening to the voice mail message in German to confirm office hours. Two small complaints: wi fi only works downstairs in the lobby (but works well there.) In room internet is wired, not good for iPads. Also, the bath tubs are very slippery and narrower than American tubs. They would benefit from rubber mats for safety. The location is ok (and the view possible only because of the location on the hillside) but not "ideally situated" for convenience. The bus stop for ski bus is just at the bottom of the hill which is good. The bahnhof is about 7-8 mins brisk walk downhill then uphill and the restaurants, shops are mostly further south from there. If being central is important, or on the level relative to the center of Zermatt, Hotel Phoenix will not suit. Otherwise, its lovely. No meals offered here except breakfast. There are a couple restaurants on the hillside nearby.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room on the SW corner of the hotel, 404. These rooms have a round window walled exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Phoenix,Zermatt during our winter vacation in January 2012 for 5 nights. Room was clean, breakfast was hearty & good variety, people were very friendly, especially Jessica & the owner Josef.. Hotel will also provide free transfer from Zermatt station to hotel & back.
Hotel location is good, few minutes walk to Sunnegga station,plus there is a bus stop nearby pick us to all ski stations. We had a enjoyable & wonderful stay during our 5 nights & will definitely come back again . Tan Jasmine Singapore

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I loved the construction of this hotel, they cut no corners with materials or craftsmanship. It is beautifully made of stone and wood and tastefully done. The views from the first floor bar, the bottom floor breakfast area, and from our third floor corner room were fantastic. Our balcony had a direct view of the Matterhorn, a nice sight each morning!

Josef was great, we enjoyed coming back from the slopes and sitting by the bar on the first floor and having an afternoon coffee or beer with him discussing the day's events. He makes sure all his guests are completely taken care of and comfortable, but gives you some space to enjoy your time in Zermatt at your own pace. His recommendations for restaurants were spot on, and I appreciated him directing us away from a few places that we considered, so that we could find spots that suited our needs better. My correspondence with Jessica and Josef ahead of our visit was very pleasant. They were quick to answer my questions and make suggestions to suite our needs as a party of three, a tough number for hotel stays. The ski storage area was convenient as well.

The Swiss are legendary for their hoteliers and Josef keeps the tradition alive. The Phoenix is a great place to stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: The third floor corner room with balcony was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very friendly staff (though not too knowledgeable of the town itself), helped us with a few things here and there and attended to a complain immediately (smell out of sink). As well free drop off at train station with own electro bus.

Location - everything, train station and cable car is in 5-10 min walk. Much better than many hotels which are up on the hill side.

Rooms (standard ones) - are not overly spacious but have a nice balcony where all should have view of the Matterhorn (ours had). The usual LCD TV with a floor heated bathroom plus shower. Rooms are standard clean, the bathroom could be taken care off a bit more in the corners.

Common area - The whole hotel is 2 or so years old, so all in modern design. A nice lounge area with a real chimney fire and a bar that serves the usual drinks.

Breakfast - rich and diverse, with good coffee machine. Has newspapers and a niece view into the snowy landscape.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed here three nights during Xmas 2011. The hotel has beautiful rooms and they take you from and to the train station. It's a little off the beaten path in terms of going out, but it's a quick walk to a ski rental place AND the train up the hill to ski.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011 via mobile

I am writing this review after my first night and day here (Christmas Eve and Christmas Day). It's a beautiful hotel, from the wood flooring to the stone walls to the wood beams in the ceilings. Very striking. The corner rooms have two balconies. Our room has a view of the Matterhorn. In a great location, it's a 5-minute walk to the Sonnegge ski gondola and a 7-minute walk to the train station and center of town. The staff were helpful. I appreciated the room for ski equipment room directly accessible from outside - including a rack for ski boots with boot warmers. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#3 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#5 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#8 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#10 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Address: untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.