We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management much improved service and ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnmatten Restaurant & Suite

Sonnmatten Restaurant & Suite
Winkelmattenweg 96, Zermatt, Switzerland
+4127 967 3030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 174 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $18 - $44
Cuisines: European, Swiss, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Zermatt, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New Management much improved service and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my second visit and the first under the new management. The restaurant was full (always a good sign ) and the service was very good despite the heavy workload for the staff. The menu has changed from an attempt at "fine dining" to excellently prepared and presented dishes with a hint of Swiss tradition. I had the noodles and salmon starter followed by Mistchatzerli (poussin) for the main course. The Gavi di Gavi wine was excellent and the whole experience much better than on the first . In contrast to my first visit the staff were very friendly and attentive.
It was a little to cold to sit on the patio and eat in the shadow of the magnificent Matterhorn and spectacular vista but maybe the next visit will be on a warm afternoon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SF/Bay Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and called ahead to make sure they could accommodate my gluten free diet - a result of celiac disease.

It was a short walk up the hill behind our hotel and a welcome escape from the busier area of Zermatt.

We were seated at a lovely table and received friendly service from the moment we arrived. The server let me know what dishes I could order and provided suggestions for our two children.

As someone else shared - the lobster bisque was very good and my sons soup was also very tasty.

It was one of the best dining experiences we had traveling through Europe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent (and no dogs)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The dogs comment refers to the "terrible" review we had read before booking. However the restaurant was so close to our chalet we had to try it. We were very glad we did. We were welcomed by all the staff, had a lovely waitress who helped us choose good wines ( we went local) to go with unbelievable lobster bisque - simply the best I have ever tasted - and beef filet. We had the three course option which was super value and added a shared cheese course to select from their cheese menu (now there's a first).

Overall a super meal with friendly staff. Go try it up above the Matterhorn paradise gondola entrance in Winkelmatten. It has a terrace overlooking the Matterhorn as well...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food & Atmosphere is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had recently a great evening in the Restaurant with some friends. We choose the 4 course Menue and enjoyed different sort of food from the card. We'd love to have a diversity of wine with the food and not only one bottle for everything. They offered us serving a different wine to each course, which was lovely.
If you like good food in a lovely atmosphere, here you go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Terrible service, ok food although over priced, oh and you get to eat with dogs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had heard ok reviews of this restaurant and indeed advanced along the pretty walk to the establishment with quiet confidence. The restaurant on entry has a modern feel and looks well thought through architecturally. On being placed as a couple in a pretty area under a window (which was so drafty we resorted to putting scarfs on) we placed our order with upbeat stoicism and were then forgotten about ...... Bar one apology (as we were about to leave) it's coming (that is the starter) for one whole hour. The food on arrival from a super unhelpful waiter was ok and credit is due here. At this point a couple with a very large Dog complete with drooling mouth, baying eyes and longing looks for food all over the restaurant (including directly at us a mere 1 meter away) were placed in what could be termed the best seated area of the restaurant. They proceeded to serve the dog water, faster than serve the customers and some time later we ate our main meal happy that, said dog watched every mouthful we took while being mopped at the mouth by its owners. There was no customer thought by way of recompense at all from the staff. Main course was ok in terms of food quality and that must be noted. Unfortunately, in conclusion very poor service, poor ambience, very costly (more so than food deserved) and we are v aware of Swiss prices, and dreadful that you have to eat your food slower than the dogs who watch you. All in all woof , not to be visited steer well clear.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonnmatten Restaurant & Suite also viewed

 

Been to Sonnmatten Restaurant & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnmatten Restaurant & Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.