We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmospere - good food, but it's a pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sparky's

Sparky's
Schluhmattstrasse 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 968 19 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 174 Restaurants in Zermatt
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sparky's Bar & Restaurant will be opening from Thursday 14th November till Saturday 16th November, and then from Thursday 21st November till Saturday 23rd.We will be opening full time from the Thursday 28th November. Hope to see you all soon.
Jessheim, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good atmospere - good food, but it's a pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ranking as number one in Zermatt, it was an natural choice. We was a bit confused when entering this facility. It is more like a pub, then a restaurant. The chioces of main courses are limited. Still if you accept this you will meet a freindly host and tasty dishes. We had a lovely dinner at Sparky's. We chosed the "Crispy chicken" with country potatoes. Delicious with a pint of beer.

Sparky's is not a place for romantic dinner, more like a place where you hang out with freinds.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    48
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, excellent food, all at low prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sparky's is not haute cuisine. It's about good international food at at very reasonable prices and with very friendly service. It's not a Michelin restaurant, but for what it is, it's worth five stars. I had a very pleasant salad with home made dressing and a very good Thai green curry. The only bad point was that they had already run out of the what looked like very good homemade soup.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very welcoming place. The menu is just on one page but every dish is tasty. There are mainly indian food. Everything was served fast. White wine by glass was also very nice. Please note that it is open from 16.00 only.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food at great pricing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

So many good recommendations. Sparky's was very close to our hotel; we felt we had to have dinner. The owner, from the UK, is a wonderful host. He made everyone in the restaurant, including us, feel very welcome. The food is delicious at prices that we judged to be half of usual Matterhorn prices. The owner had wonderful ski videos playing with good music. We felt very welcome.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Zermatt's best kept secret for dinner and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everyone who visits Zermatt should visit Sparky's at least once!

We picked this restaurant off TripAdvisor because we read great reviews and the prices seemed to be reasonable. The owner who ran the place was a jack of all trades who seemed to did everything with amazingly professionalism and friendly service.

We actually came here two nights in a row it was that good. We had a delicious green curry and chicken strips with chips. Both servings were huge and for the price we paid it was great value. Beers were cheap too. The owner even gave us a free shot of Jagermeister the first night we were there.

The owner's dog who was chilling out in the corner had to be the highlight of our visits. He was cute, well trained, extremely gentle natured and great to sit and watch. He even did tricks on demand by the owner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sparky's also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Sparky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sparky's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.