We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firefly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Firefly to your Saves list
Hotel Firefly
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Firefly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent hotel and excellent service from phoning to say train on its way, to the pick up from station onwards. Receptionists were both excellent, really helpful and put you at ease.
We were upgraded to better suite than booked and it was really roomy and well furnished. Liked the idea of the self catering facilities in room, if been longer there, probably would have used them to the full. Gym and leisure facilities are excellent and location in village is really good, as just 5 mins from main ski lift and right side for walking into the mountains, but close to village to be in main street within 5 mins as well. If you were on a budget, there is a cheap supermarket below main train station, but equally there is a small one 2 mins from hotel.

We were staying at another hotel in Zermatt on 3rd day there, and asked what was latest we could check out on our last day, as skied on glacier that day and knew would be late back. Hotel was great, as no-one was in our suite that day, we were told could use it as long as like, fantastic, as made last day very relaxing and they even insisted their taxi drop us down, instead of getting the other hotels taxi to pick us up.

Seen it on other posts, only negative feedback, was room was warm, but was 30c in the day, so pretty minor, compared to all the positives and fact that from both receptionists, bar lady and hotel taxi, all staff were great, would go back for sure. Even had free glasses of champagne as it was our anniversary whilst there!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask if there is any option for up-grade. Too many hotels would leave you basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ceri
Thank you so much for your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a nice here in our hotel..
Aswell it is a great pleasure for us to know that all these details you mentioned made your holiday enjoyable.
We are looking forward to welcome you to another time in Zermatt again.
Best wishes
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    10
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
69
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Our experience began well when we were upgraded, as a family of 5, to the 4 bedroom suite that sleeps 8. It had a beautiful living room, large dining table, and fully meal-ready kitchen (utensils, although not food). The staff was remarkably helpful with restaurants, hikes, and any special needs. The attention to detail in the place was remarkable. We loved being served breakfast every morning in our room. We felt as if we were truly in a place for the rich and famous. Although not inexpensive, the Hotel Firefly was well worth the price. We have stayed in many fine hotels, and I travel for business extensively. This was one of our family's favorite hotel experiences. We would love to return.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for the positive review here on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Firefly. For us and our staff it is always a pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as we can.
We would love to welcome you and your family once again in our hotel.
Best wishes
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Firefly for a long weekend in March 2013. It was a rare treat for us to have a weekend without our kids so we wanted to make the most of it.

***This hotel absolutely hit the mark!***

Its a top notch hotel - its luxurious but with a very relaxed atmosphere, has a cool bar and seating area; the rooms are fantastic, modern and well designed (It has rooms of varying size including some that seem to accommodate very large families - we were given a tour of some of the bigger rooms and were blown away but what they offer); the pool and spa are ideal for a post-ski relax and wind-down; the location is great, being just 200m from the main gondola and a short walk into the central area for the bars and restaurants. And then there is the breakfast (a real feast!) which is served in your own room so its a great way to start the day, without having to go up and down a lift/staircase to and from a breakfast room and fight other guests for the last croissant!

The staff are really friendly and extremely helpful - nothing seems too much effort. They also recommended some restaurants both on the slopes and in Zermatt - and all of them proved to be excellent. We had a couple of (minor) problems with the room which got resolved quickly - the safe didn't open one day and the shower head needed tightening - and we ended up receiving a bottle of wine for our troubles as well!

Add all this to the fact the hotel is in Zermatt, which is a fanstastic resort - typical 'traditional alpine' style with great skiing and with great views of the Matterhorn. And you can ski over and into Italy. What more could you ask for?

Ok, the hotel is not cheap but you definitely get a top quality experience so its money well spent. The only down side is the lack of restaurant - but there are so many good ones around and the staff know the best ones, so that's not really an issue.

We had a really fantastic stay, and are already trying to work out how we can wangle another long weekend at this hotel & resort next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Dean,
thank you very much for the time you took to write such a nice review.
We are very please to hear that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Firefly.
Aswell it is a great pleasure for us to know that all these details you mentioned made your holiday enjoyable.
We would very much appreciate to welcome you sometime soon and we wish you all the best!
Your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in Firefly on July 10-11, 2013. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which had a modern decor and a kitchenette. If you ask, Firefly will send a shuttle to the train station and we recommend it because it is a bit of a walk to the hotel especially if you have luggage. Zermatt is a lovely town and the staff at Zermatt is very helpful in recommending nice restaurants and giving you ideas on what to do. We already had tickets for the Gornergratt and highly recommend it. A restaurant named Le Gitan recommended by Firelfly was lovely and the food delicious. Although we liked the space in our suite and the friendly staff at Firefly, we were annoyed by the sink in the bathroom, the uncomfortable chair and the sofa in the living room which was more like a day bed than a sofa. In the evenings we had trouble finding a comfortable chair to sit and unwind. Zermatt was hot in July during the day and the rooms got very warm unless you open the sliders in both rooms but in the evenings when the lights were on we couldn't open the sliders because of flies attracted fo light. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant and delivers your breakfast to your room at a time you specify the night before. We actually liked this arrangement because it gave us time in the morning to enjoy our breakfast while were still in your pajamas.

Overall Firefly worked for us but next time in Zermatt we would like to stay in a hotel that has a comfortable living room and a bathroom with a sink which you want have to worry about splashing water all over the place when you wash your hands and face.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Peri

Thank you very much for your detailed and very helpful review. We very much appreciate the time you took therefor.

The concept of our Hotel Firefly is to make our guests feel like home. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we have offered you to swop the seating facilities such as the sofa and the chairs aswell as the option to have a look at one of our bigger suites hoping that you might prefer to change the room or find the furniture that is most confortable for you. Understandably these offers were not interesting for you.
Indeed we have had a couple of warm days and nights in Zermatt, the central heating is addapted to the temperature outside and does not offer a possibility to be regulated. Although if we had known about this, we would have loved to help you with several other possibilites to keep your room cooler during the night.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed having breakfast in your room and that you were happy with the service that our staff provided.

Again we would like to thank you for your visit and the very helpful review.
Best wishes
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely, well designed interior with high quality fittings & furnishings. Staff were all excellent, very friendly and helpful. Bar is very nice to sit and relax with a drink. It was summer, but the log fire made me wish it was much colder! There are bikes that you can use to do some biking which was a welcome touch. Breakfast every morning in the room was a nice touch (even if it may be driven by no space for a restaurant which i believe is the reason for it), I could not tire of this. Good kitchen facilities for the days you don't want to eat out.

Negatives? Chill out area in spa could be more private. A/c in room isn't very good for the hot summer days (wasn't a major issue).... (clutching at straws to think of negatives...)

Location is excellent for the lifts but not for the shops, other pubs etc... it would depend what your priorities were. Walking time to main street is 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Matterhorn views... higher floor the better.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and the time you tooked for it.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Firefly.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you once in winter time - than you can definitely use the open fire place :-).
We wish you all the best.
Best regards
Kalbermatter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed in the Firefly for skiholiday.
Getting to Zermatt is a challenge so please check this out before going.
The Firefly is a nice hotel with correct rooms. Watch out for wooden bathroom doors to avoid hurting your hands.
Since the restaurant is too small your breakfast is served every day in your room. Becomes boring after two days because choice is limited and you need to pick your time the day before...but who knows how long you will sleep?
The lobby desk girls are friendly and very helpful. The girl behind the bar needs some TLC and will probably become a bit friendlier...
Be prepared to walk uphill for about 5 to 10 minutes to reach the gondola.
Fitness room is great but swimming pool rather small like all skihotels.
The real afterski is happening in town so you should walk another 10 minutes downtown to find the places to be...
Zermatt is a great place to ski...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the time you spend to give us a feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you liked our hotel rooms.
The concept of the hotel was to make the guests feel like at home. Therefore we don’t have a restaurant and offer the breakfast individual in the rooms. So the guests can choose the things they would like to have and also the time. The line for “extra wishes” on the breakfast sheet, shall give you no limits for the selection of food and drinks. Regarding the time, of course there is the chance to let us know if you are awake and then we will serve it “à la minute”.

It is always our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as we can, so if you are in the hotel let us know all your wishes. We and our team try to make it come true. Thank you again for your feedback! That’s always really helpful.

Best regards
Maria & Micki Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

hotel located close to the main street to the gondola, that means 5 min. on foot.

build in 2009 everything is brand new, and very stylish. Owners very friendly, and vine cellar full of italian vine.

spacious ski room and dryer boots, available for guest.

spa area with steam bathroom, sauna and swimming pool very stylish, with chromo therapy.

what more can I say.
hotel staff, top, room top, location superb.

suitable for family too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Davide
Thank you so much for the positive feedback you gave us.
We are glad to hear that you had a great time in Hotel Firefly.
It's nice to hear that you like the style of the hotel and all the things we offer for our guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Firefly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.