We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and cosy hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Firefly to your Saves list
Hotel Firefly
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely and cosy hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel Firefly is so lovely and cosy, you don't want leave it!
We spent there almost a week and everyday was a delight.
The location is perfect: about 3-4 minutes of walking to the Matterhorn Express cablecar and about 7-10 minutes to city centre, and still you will hear the morning sounds of the church :)

The rooms are spacious and design is fabulous - very modern, but still you have a sense of living in a real swiss chalet. And you even can see the Matterhorn from one of the windows.
There's no lack in towels, bathrobes or amenities, housekeeping service is very good.
The fireplace makes suites even more comfortable.
They also give a rucksack for use while you stay at the hotel, which came in very handy to us.

We really enjoyed the in-room breakfast - pastry, yoghurt and home-made jam were delicious!
The staff and the hostess are so friendly, sweet and charming, always eager to help you! But, most of all, we liked the cat of the house :)

I'd rate the hotel with 4 and a big plus stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
61
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerna, Luzern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Together with a couple of friends we arrived in Zermatt and had a most heartly welcome at the hotel firefly! The suites are tastefully furnished and with a view to remember. Relaxing hours in the very nice spa and wellness area, a homemade dinner in the suite and a couple of drinks in the cosy hotel bar made it overall just a perfect weekend. The rich breakfast brought to the room was the creme of the top! Not to speak of the hikes in the nature around the famous and impressing Matterhorn or 'Horu'... Many thanks to the Family Kalbermatter, you're doing just a great job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Marc

Thank you for the nice feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear, that you had a nice stay in our hotel Firefly and that you enjoyed the time here. It is a pleasure for us to know that we will stay in such a good memory.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Your Kalbermatter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in August 2012 and had a great experience. Zermatt is gorgeous and has so much to offer. The hotel is modernly decorated and the beds are like heaven. I loved that they delivered breakfast to your room every morning- what a great feature! The staff were very helpful amd gave great dinner recommendations. The train station pickup was so easy and the champagne upon checkin was a perfect way to start the weekend. But the most amazing thing about this hotel was the spa. We were the only ones in there every time we went and it was incredible. The pool is great, and the steam rooms and sauna were so relaxing. We hope to go back one day!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review.

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you soon. Again of course with a nice glas of champagne...

Best wishes,
Your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Firefly in Zermatt in the second weekend of July and it was a real treat!
The suites are very uniquely designed, with different themes, I asked for the theme "water" because my husband loves the blue color, and we got what we asked for, the suite was as great as the pictures on their website, and the view of Zermatt was even more beautiful than what we thought.

The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Zermatt, very close to the cable cars stop, and to many wonderful restaurants and shops.

The Nespresso machine in the room, and the complementary fruit basket as well as the wide range of DVDs available for guests were a really nice addition... we could go hiking in the morning and then come back and relax in our big bed watching a film that we selected from their DVD selection on this huge LCD screen!

And one last thing, the hotel does not have a restaurant, but do not let that discourage you because when I asked for an in-room dinner to be arranged the super friendly staff offered to arrange for a delivery of whatever we choose directly to our suite! we ended up enjoying the Matterhorn view and dining out, but the staff reaction made us feel that they are ready to make anything to make sure that their guests are satisfied.

The breakfast is served to your suite based on the selection you make the night before, very fresh and amazingly tasty.

It is definitely a great hotel and we will be coming back :)

Room Tip: Suites are themed with quite strong designs, so make sure to check the different designs on the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Christa

Thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we would love to welcome you again sometime soon.

Best wishes,
your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just brilliant! We have just returned from 4-days in Zermatt staying at this wonderful hotel. We were upgraded to a suite that was huge. The decor was contemporary with a traditional Swiss twist, which worked really well. Everything was high spec, the only thing I would say was that the Tempur mattress was not to my husband's taste. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
The gym was excellent and spa facilities perfect. The bar 55 is very cool. We borrowed mountain bikes for a day, skied on the glacier one morning and just generally ate lots and chilled out. Bliss. Would love to be able to return during the winter season should the pound/Franc exchange rate ever improve!
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Bess,

thank you very much for the kind words!
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Greeted with a glass of French Champagne by the adoreable front desk hostess.. Upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment! Beautiful decor, tastefully done. Perfect location. Matterhorn viewed from 3 windows. Friendly and welcoming father of the owner who made our trip memorable in the first hours. Need I say more? I've been here less than a day and I took the time to write this review. We are extending our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Wannabinhawaii,

thank you very much for the time you have taken to write such a nice review!
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruhpolding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. We have had a great time, big luxerious rooms, outstanding cosy flair and a phenomenal breakfast delivered to the room.
The spa and sauna is the best I have ever enjoyed and on top of that Maria and Micky, the owners are a couple you like to meet again.
Thanks for a great stay and a wonderful time in Zermatt

Room Tip: you can't get wrong once you have choosen the Firefly Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Firefly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.