We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view in Zermatt and best restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Mazot

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Mazot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Mazot
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best view in Zermatt and best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The room has a balcony facing the snowy mountain. HOw nice! The restaurant serves local deer meat and other games at a very affordable price 30-40 Franc each. So delicious! We walked around the town, mostly tourist kind of pizza, pastar costs the same price as this one. Love this place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stopped in Zermatt for one day and night. The main reason for the visit was to see the Matterhorn and luckily it was a clear day. We were fortunate to get to stay in the room with a balcony facing the Matterhorn. What a view to wake up to!!! Rooms in Switzerland are very basic but was all that we needed. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The knotty pine walls were homey. The breakfast was included and was served by a friendly and smiley young woman. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests, particularly a young couple from Australia. There is a gourmet restaurant on the lower level of the hotel but we weren't able to eat there. Others have said that it is quite good. Restaurants in general in Zermatt are quite expensive. This small hotel was comfortable, an easy walk to and around the main streets of Zermatt and breakfast was included. In an expensive resort town, the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony facing the Matterhorn have an exceptional view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Terrific location with a huge balcony area you can actually walk out onto. The views of the Matterhorn were awesome! The room smelt like fresh timber, bed was very comfortable with our own bathroom and breakfast really good. This was one of my favourite stays in Switzerland!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent two nights in a room with a great view of the Matterhorn. At night we left the window open at the top and were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river running just outside. The climb up the stairs is steep and difficult if you have large bags or are older.

The restaurant was very good with meats grilled over a wood fire.

The WIFI worked very well.

We were happy here and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed two nights at this little hotel in Zermatt and was very pleased. The Swiss couple that runs the place are very friendly, and speak several languages. The hotel is about a five minute walk from the train station (some places in town you'll be walking quite a ways and uphill.)

I'm a solo budget traveler, so I opted for an inexpensive single room with a basin in room, with the WC/shower in the hall (but it's only shared with one other room). All the other rooms have balconies I believe.

The breakfast was typical European continental with bread/rolls, cheese, ham/salami, butter, jam, yogurt, muesli/cereals, coffee (or order Milchkaffee, and you'll get a little can of coffee and a can of hot milk), juice.

This place also serves dinner, and the menu looked really good. I had to picnic my whole trip in Switzerland since I'm on a budget, but the food they were offering looked pretty great, and was priced similarly or less than what other places offer.

Hotel Le Mazot is definitely worth it and gets an "A" rating.

There's no luggage storage here, except in the Ski room which isn't locked. You can risk it (probably without any problems) or you can take your stuff to the train station, go down the stairs, and use the lockers. A large locker (big enough for two large Rucksacks) costs 10 CHF for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Solo travelers can save by staying in a single room with a shared WC/shower. You won't spend mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere In Wa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Antoinette (one half of the team that runs this charming hostelry) gave us a warm greeting at the door and took care of the paper-work in double-quick time. We were delighted with our room. Every inch or square centimetre was put to efficient use. Windows from both the bed and bath-rooms had stunning views of the Matterhorn. Our decision to eat in the hotel's restaurant turned out to be a wise choice. Not only was the dining-room lovely, with charming Austrian-made furniture, but the food was outstandingly good. Roger, the chef, is the other half of the dedicated duo that imbues this hotel with elan and energy. Sadly, we spent only one night at Le Mazot prior to embarking on the Glacier Express next morning. We shall seek other opportunities to return and experience more of Zermatt's many charms, and will definitely stay at Le Mazot again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in September, 2012 and couldn't have been more pleased with our room.
First of all, it was an easy walk from the train station and lifts, but a couple blocks from the noise of the main street. Our room had a huge private balcony with a view of the Matterhorn where we enjoyed a glass of wine and snacks in the afternoon. (Note to owners: a small table and a couple of lounge chairs would have made it even better!) The old town was to the right, the Matterhorn straight ahead, and the river to the left.
The hotel only offers a few rooms with a keyed private entrance off the street and a restaurant on the ground floor. We didn't eat there, but enjoyed a great pizza and salad at the restaurant Vieux Valais right across the street.
Our room was clean and comfortable and well maintained. The included breakfast was served downstairs in a cheery room--typical buffet fare.
We were there for the hiking and enjoyed a different route each of the four days. It had snowed the night before we arrived so some of the trails were covered in snow, but well marked by signs. It felt less touristy than Grindelwald (our next stop) and lots of mountaineering/trekking types all around.
This was my fifth trip to Switzerland, but my first time in Zermatt and I had read that it was difficult to get to and a "one mountain town". We found it easy to reach by train and we were blessed by great Fall weather. Sometimes the Matterhorn would be in the clouds, but they always parted for long views of what is really a unique, majestic mountain. I think the Jungfrau area is gorgeous and offers more diversity of hiking options, but it also is more touristy. Zermatt has a "sporty" energy and I'm glad I didn't listen to the naysayers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Mazot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mazot

Address: Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Mazot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Mazot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.