We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stockhorn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Stockhorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stockhorn
11 Riedstrasse, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I last stayed here over 20 years ago and it was just as charming as I remembered! The room (8) had a Matterhorn view, was a good size and immaculately clean and well appointed. It is only a ten minute walk from the station and just out of the 'business end' of Zermatt. The breakfast is basic but plentiful. The same family own the restaurant underneath as well as the pizzeria opposite. A warm welcome can be found in each. At SF120 a night for a double room you will not find cheaper in Zermatt. I would definitely recommend Stockhorn.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a terrific view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had 5 nights in room 10. Our flight was late so we only arrived in the middle of the night, but that was no problem at all since they have a machine that spits out your key card using the code they tell you. The room was immaculate, it was a very good size with a very good sized double bed. We didn't have a Matterhorn view, but it didn't matter to us since we saw it on the slopes all day long. The bathroom is also very nice and has a hair dryer. The only thing we found unnecessary was that the towels got replaced every day, even if we had them hanging up. This is only a small thing to complain about and most people probably wouldn't bother, but we really value eco-friendliness. The breakfast in the restaurant is very nice and served from 7.30 to 9.30. We always took it rather late and there was still plenty of food for us. The distance to the train station is about 1 km and we walked everything, also to the lifts and back.
Overall we can really recommend this good value hotel and would definitely come again if we decide to snowboard around the Matterhorn again.

Room Tip: Room 10 seems to be the cheapest one as it doesn't have the Matterhorn view. You'll see it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

A great deal for Zermatt. Clean, comfortable rooms. And our room (room 8) had an incredible Matterhorn view.
I was glad that had read a previous review that explained that the restaurant was closed on Monday and that they found a note with the room number and a key in the door. Otherwise our Monday arrival might have been confusing at first.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Stockhorn isn't really a hotel, more a restaurant with just 5 rooms above it, but we paid £170 for 2 nights in a town where most rooms are at least £150 a night, so thought it represented good value for money.

When you arrive in Zermatt by train, all hotels are represented on a large map of the town by a 3-figure number. Simply type in the corresponding number of your hotel and it's highlighted on the map. Stockhorn is about 10 minutes walk across the town and mostly on the flat, so we had no trouble towing our suitcases behind us. Whilst a nice distance away from the high street, it wasn't too remote either.

On arrival at the front door, we were a little surprised to see a sign saying that it was closed on Mondays. However, there was a note especially for us, directing us to the room and saying that the key had been left in the door. This was the only contact we had from the owners until the following morning at breakfast. Our room was tiny, but very clean whilst being both traditional and modern. It had a flat screen TV and the bathroom was so small that the sink was situated in the bedroom. However, we liked it - it was quirky and made good use of a very small space. It really didn't lack anything at all.

A wooden balcony ran all the way around the building. We just used the bit in front of our own patio door, and it did have the promised view of the Matterhorn across the rooftops.

Now the slight letdown - breakfast. Only 2 of the rooms (ours included) were occupied during our stay, and the breakfast was somewhat measly. We appreciated that they aren't going to lay on a big spread when there weren't enough people to eat it, but a choice or cereal would've been nice. Sadly, it was cornflakes or nothing. There was a small plate of meats and cheeses, but no yogurts or fruit, just bread and preserves. It was the one slight dampener on our stay.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, but on our return to our room on the second night, it was full, so I assume that the food is good!

Zermatt town - terribly overcrowded with buildings. We were a little shocked at the density of hotels, to be honest. It was probably lovely 20 years ago, but in our opinion has completely sold out to tourism in a 'pack 'em in' kind of way. That said, there are still lots of beautiful old buildings in the town, and it's worth taking the Gornergrat railway to the top, viewing the glaciers (take a warm coat - even in summer, and prepare for slight altitude sickness), then getting off at the Riffelalp stop on the way back and walking the rest of the way down. This takes about an hour and half and takes you through some lovely wooded paths and flower meadows, before arriving on the outskirts of town with the cable cars whizzing over your head. It was the highlight of our stay.

To sum up - go to the Stockhorn if you merely want a basic, nice clean place to sleep, with a decent view, but don't expect a breakfast that will sustain you throughout the day.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Matterhorn view room if that's what you want, or you may end up with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

had 5 nights here back in Feb 2011.yes it doesn't have all the extras of a hotel, but do you really need a reception. great rooms and amazing price for zermatt. couldn't be happier with the view from our room. would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Stockhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stockhorn

Address: 11 Riedstrasse, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stockhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stockhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.