We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Life Time for my Family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip of a Life Time for my Family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful Hotel. Excellent location, food and entertainment. Tanja and Dave: "On behalf of myself (Marcel St-Georges), my Son Nick and my daughter Jessica Thank You a hundred times for your outstanding friendship and work ethic. You are both unbelievably energetic, efficient and professional. You contributed to the success of our Family Reunion ..."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
24
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Advantages:
- The view was excellent! There was a little church and small lake nearby the hotel. Good to have walk and hiking nearby with mountain view.
- The room was nice with shared balcony. We booked room with Zermatt view and that was great!
- Staffs was very considerate and helpful. Help us took the heavy luggage, prepare desserts for us to bring back room.

Some little reminders:
- If you want to go up Matterhorn, make sure the cable car from Matterhorn to Schwarzee work! The day we went there with a lot of luggage, but that section of cable car was not opened. So we brought ticket up and down Matterhorn and ticket up and down Schwarzee. We was lucky to find a sportswear store in zermatt to store the luggage.
- Bit scary when there was heavy rain storm at night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel provided a very comfortable night prior to our ascent of the Matterhorn. It was very clean, perfectly located and with a breath-taking view. However, what really made it special was the welcome of the hosts. Tanja and Dave made us feel so welcome, looked after us like royalty, and even looked after our belongings while we were on the mountain. I will definitely stay there with clients again in the future.

Stuart Macdonald
Mountain Guide

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axat, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Feel like you've awoken on a James Bond movie set at this Swiss mountaintop hotel. From the sexy room decor to the dramatic views to the gourmet dining, all at the foot of the iconic Matterhorn, winter or summer it will be a memorable mountaintop experience. 4 stars!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Schwarzsee to witness the sunset/sunrise over the Matterhorn. We arrived mid-afternoon to live music on the large terrace of the restaurant with excellent atmosphere and a stunning view of the Matterhorn.
Our ensuite bedroom on the first floor was simple but very comfortably furnished with a lovely modern bathroom and it led on to a large shared terrace with stunning Matterhorn views.
Dinner and breakfast were simple but excellent and the staff very attentive, cheerful, friendly and professional.
We were surprised to see the hotel not fully booked considering what a superb experience we had. We are sure this will change soon. Dave and his team are a must visit when being Zermatt. We can whole heartedly recommend the hotel/restaurant Schwarzsee, if only for a lunch on the gorgeous terrace, let alone an overnight stay. We are regular visitors to Zermatt and will definitely go again, its great and a must!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Schwarzsee with my family and it was brilliant. You take the gondola up from Zermatt and are immediately surrounded by incredible mountains and walks. The gondola closes down quite early in the afternoon so being able to stay up there through the long summer evenings is amazing. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. There are also not many places (in Europe) you can get rooms and two meals included at this price. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The view over Matterhorn and the Alps is fantastic from the terrace. The food is fare and good for the location altitude (2583m). You can eat 3-course menu or just take a replenish food before continuing for hiking/alpinism path choosing a traditional German-Switzerland course or an international one. If you don’t want to eat, you can enjoy a drink while relaxing with a view over the Alps. There is even a band that sings during some days (weekends especially) and they are able to make a good atmosphere. Even in summer they provide some blankets for the “frizzing” ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee

Address: Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.