We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not forget the birdcage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Heini

Restaurant Chez Heini
Wiestystrasse 45, Zermatt, Switzerland
0041279671630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 174 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $24 - $96
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You will not forget the birdcage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great food, friendly people, atmosphere and owner. What more can you ask for? Located outside of the central village core but easy to get to by bus or foot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    16
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“VIP Table - almost on the fire!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

A ridiculous restaurant fit for Euro Trash!

Looks great and boasted about by the locals for its crazy atmosphere. After booking a week in advance, via our concierge, we were greeted on arrival by a tall disorientated chap, who was confused by our suggestion that we had booked a table. We informed him of the booking name, but he insisted on informing us that our names were probably incorrect, and started to furnish us with new names! Finally we were wafted to a table one meter from an open fire where the food was being cooked. Oddly enough my wife suggested that sitting next to a ragging fire, spitting fat was not her first choice for an evening meal. We requested to be moved to another table, but the confused and disoriented chap believed that our night could be resurrected by locating the table next to the bar and service walk way - enough to say we left!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A group of 11 dined at Chez Heini March 6, 2013. The food was outstanding, decor and after dinner show eclectic but very special. Well worth the price. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A special and fun night out with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Best lamb ever in a fun atmosphere with great service, and a show by the owner/chef at the end. Was a very nice and special night out. Thank you Dan and staff!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a lovely dinner last Saturday, one of the best lamb in town, a must try plum desert! If you are not a meat lover try sole, also great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Heini also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Chez Heini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chez Heini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.