We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jaegerhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jaegerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jaegerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steinmattstrasse 85 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt CH–3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 115 hotels in Zermatt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

Top location, top service, nice and friendly staff and close to everything in the most charming village of Zermatt, what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland, Geneva
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a great 3 star hotel, very charming with a nice atmosphere. Located only a few steps away from the buzz but still in a quiet location. Half of the rooms have a view on the Matterhorn. I reserved a single room which turned out to be a double room. Do not hesitate to call them once you arrive at the train station.They have their own shuttle bus that will pick you up from the train station for free. Breakfast is included. The furniture is of high quality. Overall a great value hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hi,

This hotel is beautifully located and has a good room. But the thing I liked the most about this hotel is the service which is rarely good in other hotels in Europe compared to India. The hospitality is cold and the attitude is 'This is the best I could do, now its up to you' which is really annoying coz for simple things too, most other hotels are hardly helpful. But this hotel is vastly different. I had a situation when i reached jagerhof and the staff, specially the receptionist was extremely helpful and made sure I dont get charged for another hotel that had confirmed my booking for the same night but no one was available in that hotel in the eve to give me a room. Finally I walked out of that hotel and got to jagerhof. here they made sure I have a good room and also made calls to the other hotel to make sure i dont get charged for that night. A good room and good location of a hotel is very common in Zermatt but what I loved about this hotel besides both of these is excellent service. Kudos to Jagerhof. My trip was on the 17th - 19th Dec 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel was in a very good location - right in town - about halfway between the train station & the gondola station & they will pick you up from the train. The room was comfortable & well maintained. We were not promised a mountain view room, but it was spectacular. - And a refrigerator/freezer just outside on the patio. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of meats & local cheese & rolls, etc. They might not know we made a sandwich to eat on the train. I'm not sure if the restaurant has a regular menu for dinner - but they offer a fixed price dinner and it must be good, since the dinning room was full. We had some confusion there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kschavez
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in one of the three bedroom family apartments with private bathrooms. All I can say was this place was WONDERFUL! The views of the mountains including the Matterhorn were fabulous, it was clean and central. We will take all our guests back here, it is a great place with kids, worth the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at this terrible hotel in Zermatt. While Zermatt is one of the most beautiful cities my family and I have every been to. Hotel Jaegerhof happens to be one of the most terrible hotel we have every stayed in. We think hotel is very mismanaged and ppl are very very rude:

1) They did not have anyone to pick luggage
2) While they did provide selective pick up from the train station. They were very impolite not to provide this to my family
3) Hotel has this pathetic dead animals....they stink
4) food - breakfast is terrible and breads are like real hard...seem to be a week old breaks they serve for breakfast
5) single room are like toilets...very very uncomfortable
6) location is very bad
7) staff is extremely rude and most of the time useless
8) Lobby - near reception area is like full of bags- they had no place to keep luggage

AVOID THIS AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Rooms are decently sized. Hotel is little far from the station. Staff is very courteous. You can have a Free pick up from the station in their Electric Vans. Dont expect any service after 7 pm. Small Outdoor and Indoor Bar is available in the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jaegerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaegerhof

Address: Steinmattstrasse 85 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt CH–3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 115 hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jaegerhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, rustic 3-Star Hotel with spacious, modern apartments in a quiet but central area of Zermatt. Only 5 walking minutes from Matterhorn Express. Free WiFi in the entire hotel! Many rooms and apartments with view of the Matterhorn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Jaegerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jaegerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.