We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, shame about the mattress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matterhorn Focus to your Saves list
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Winkelmattenweg 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, shame about the mattress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is one of the most delightful hotels we have ever stayed in. Our room had a view of the Matterhorn from the patio, gorgeous! We were in the old part of the hotel and it was really to our liking, but the furniture desperately needs updating. Outdoor chairs on patio were on their last legs. Sofa inside kind of falling apart, and the mattresses were appalling. We HURT badly. Having given vent to this, I have to say the spa is beyond belief, with wonderful steam room, relaxing room with lovely ceiling lights like stars, heated seat, great indoor, outdoor pool, afternoon buffet of tea and drinks and snacks. Breakfast was TERRIFIC. Staff was so friendly and helpful!!!! It is a fantastic hotel, and even with its problems, one of the great stays!

Room Tip: Pay for a view of the Matterhorn. It's WORTH IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    37
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
225
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel chief manager cares about guest satisfaction very much and explain that many guests do not like too many things put in this design oriented hotel. So there is no fridge and hot water maker in the room. But if you need it, they can bring it to the room. Be sure to ask for it if you need it and they will be happy to bring it to the room.

All things good especially the warm swimming pool with jacuzzi, and the rich breakfast. Just one thing cannot be solved is the extremely good sound and wind proof glass wall, that almost block the wifi completely, so you almost can't get internet connection at balcony.

If you care about full Matterhorn view, maybe you also need to raise your wish in advance, as not every room facing Matterhorn has unobstructed view. Our room for example, has great Matterhorn view but with a big cable tower in front of it.

Anyway, it's difficult to satisfy every guest since every traveller has different preference, but Matterhorn Focus seems not able to accept less than 100% satisfaction, and they treat it very seriously to achieve that high goal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in a room with a Matterhorn view. We were in Building C in Room 407. We had an unobstructed view of the Matterhorn which we could see half the time we were there. The other half, the Matterhorn was covered in clouds.

The room was clean and functional. The bathroom was a good size. It had a shower with great water pressure. There is a safe and slippers in the room. Also, the flat screen tv is the largest I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at.

Car pick up is from 8am-7pm. We arrived on a train at 7:13 pm. They made an exception and picked us up at the train station. Also, there are free phones you can use to call the hotel. When we left, our train left at 7:39am so they called a taxi for us and the charge was CHF 17. I wished the hours of operation for free pick up was expanded a bit since they are a bit of a walk to the train station.

If you want to walk into town, there is a set of steps right before the Matterhorn Express lift, take it down and turn right. Alternatively, there is an elevator across from the lift that says TAXI/BUS. If you take it down, turn left. Then you will end up pretty much at the same place as the steps. In both cases, you have to cross the bridge and take a right. When the road forks, take the higher road on the left. Continue straight and it will lead you right into the heart of town - Bahnhofstrasse where everything is. The Gornergrat Bahn (train) and Funicular to Sunegga are in town. Only the lift to the Matterhorn Express which we used to get to Glacier Paradise is next to the hotel.

We bought the 3 day peak pass for 190 CHF and had unlimited use of all lifts, gondolas, trains, funiculars and free access to Glacier Paradise. We thought it was a better deal than buying separate tickets and we could go multiple times depending on the weather. If you've never been to Zermatt, the weather is very unpredictable. One minute we are riding the train up to Gornergrat and we only had a 1 hour window to take pictures of the Matterhorn before it got cloudy and rainy again. We took the Gornergrat Train three times. It was a fun way to go up the mountain. There is a 5 CHF deposit for the pass. If you return it, they will give you the 5 CHF back.

When the weather is good, don't walk but RUN to the nearest lift, gondola, train up the mountain. We had excellent weather the first day. The Matterhorn is beautiful. You don't want to miss it when you have good weather.

We used the pool once. It was a nice touch. Half is inside and half is outside. Didn't stay outside for long as it was raining.

All in all, this is a small and nice property. I wouldn't saying that the staff is overly friendly but we had no specific complaints. I would stay here again.

I enjoy reading and writing reviews. If you found this review helpful, please give me a helpful vote.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights with a room facing Matterhorn directly. Amazing views, exquisite designs, and to top it off, the room came with a wonderful and cosy fireplace to keep us warm at night. Absolutely loved the room balcony and the hotel pool which extends outdoors, both are perfect places to laze around to soak in the surrounding gorgeous scenery.

The hotel is a 15min walk from the town centre, but that was fine as we planned to walk around and explore the place anyway. The good part is the hotel is located right next to the cable ride up to Matterhorn, and you can head straight back to the room to rest upon the return trip.

I would have preferred the room to be equipped with a minibar, where we can store beers and other alcohols. Nonetheless, I would definitely recommend Focus to my friends!

Room Tip: specify the rooms you want if you have certain expectations of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013. We were on our honeymoon at the time and the hotel clearly got the message by providing us with a room covered in rose petals!

The hotel is not right in the centre of Zermatt- it is about a 10-15 minute to the centre. The hotel staff collected us from the station and returned us there for free as they will for anyone on request- recommended versus struggling up the hill with cases.

Entry to the hotel is via a slightly alarming James Bond style tunnel and glass lift. Apparently this is quite common for Zermatt, but was a bit of a novelty for us.

The hotel is sold on the concepts of 'design' and 'privacy'. Overall it succeeds on both counts, whilst perhaps looking a little tired in parts. We had a room facing towards Zermatt with ceiling to floor windows. The room wasn't huge but had a balcony, a sitting area and shower room. Pretty clean with plenty of storage space, a safe and fast free wifi.

Hotel facilities include small indoor and outdoor pools that are connected to each other. The outdoor pool acts like a giant hot tub and is fitted with benches. We spent a good while lying back on these drinking glasses of Champagne whilst watching the cable cars fly past - highly recommended!

Breakfast is served near the reception from an extensive and high quality buffet. As numerous others have said, the hotel does not have a restaurant but does have the ability to provide limited room service (pizza, soup etc). We did order food from this service and it wasn't brilliant, but it was easier than walking into the centre of Zermatt after a long trip to the Matterhorn.

The staff helped us with printing boarding passes, laundry and various other bits of information. They were friendly and efficient.

Overall we had a good stay and I would likely return. There are lots of great hotels in Zermatt so shop around, but give this one serious consideration. If we were to come back we would likely do so at Christmas as swimming in the hot pool with snow on the ground sounds irresistible!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows (I.E not those with just a skylight) are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Quirky and modern decor greet guests as they ascend to the lobby by elevator from the access tunnel. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quiet and clean. Breakfast was outstanding, and the location is excellent for hiking south up the valley. I only had a few minor complaints: the cable car tower does occlude views of the Matterhorn from many rooms, and the sound of the cables moving is noticeable from 8-5pm. The lack of a restaurant can be tiresome when you are exhausted from a day of hiking, and then you need to walk 10 min to eat, but it's manageable. The shower is a bit small (and no tub), and the room had a bit too much furniture for its size, but overall, we were quite satisfied and I would recommend this hotel, caveats aside.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for Christmas 2011 and loved it. Great location close to the gondola and a beautiful easy walk to the main village every night. Rooms are fantastic and decorated like no other I have stayed in. Lovely hosts and outstanding pool, spa and wellness centre. Will be coming back soon. Dining open for breakfast only but wasn't an issue as we ate out every night in the village.

Room Tip: Matterhorn view rooms are sensational and worth the money. We had a valley view room and it was equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Address: Winkelmattenweg 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matterhorn Focus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.