We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean contemporary room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Matterhorn Focus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Winkelmattenweg 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Clean contemporary room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in a room with a Matterhorn view. We were in Building C in Room 407. We had an unobstructed view of the Matterhorn which we could see half the time we were there. The other half, the Matterhorn was covered in clouds.

The room was clean and functional. The bathroom was a good size. It had a shower with great water pressure. There is a safe and slippers in the room. Also, the flat screen tv is the largest I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at.

Car pick up is from 8am-7pm. We arrived on a train at 7:13 pm. They made an exception and picked us up at the train station. Also, there are free phones you can use to call the hotel. When we left, our train left at 7:39am so they called a taxi for us and the charge was CHF 17. I wished the hours of operation for free pick up was expanded a bit since they are a bit of a walk to the train station.

If you want to walk into town, there is a set of steps right before the Matterhorn Express lift, take it down and turn right. Alternatively, there is an elevator across from the lift that says TAXI/BUS. If you take it down, turn left. Then you will end up pretty much at the same place as the steps. In both cases, you have to cross the bridge and take a right. When the road forks, take the higher road on the left. Continue straight and it will lead you right into the heart of town - Bahnhofstrasse where everything is. The Gornergrat Bahn (train) and Funicular to Sunegga are in town. Only the lift to the Matterhorn Express which we used to get to Glacier Paradise is next to the hotel.

We bought the 3 day peak pass for 190 CHF and had unlimited use of all lifts, gondolas, trains, funiculars and free access to Glacier Paradise. We thought it was a better deal than buying separate tickets and we could go multiple times depending on the weather. If you've never been to Zermatt, the weather is very unpredictable. One minute we are riding the train up to Gornergrat and we only had a 1 hour window to take pictures of the Matterhorn before it got cloudy and rainy again. We took the Gornergrat Train three times. It was a fun way to go up the mountain. There is a 5 CHF deposit for the pass. If you return it, they will give you the 5 CHF back.

When the weather is good, don't walk but RUN to the nearest lift, gondola, train up the mountain. We had excellent weather the first day. The Matterhorn is beautiful. You don't want to miss it when you have good weather.

We used the pool once. It was a nice touch. Half is inside and half is outside. Didn't stay outside for long as it was raining.

All in all, this is a small and nice property. I wouldn't saying that the staff is overly friendly but we had no specific complaints. I would stay here again.

I enjoy reading and writing reviews. If you found this review helpful, please give me a helpful vote.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    35
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
196
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights with a room facing Matterhorn directly. Amazing views, exquisite designs, and to top it off, the room came with a wonderful and cosy fireplace to keep us warm at night. Absolutely loved the room balcony and the hotel pool which extends outdoors, both are perfect places to laze around to soak in the surrounding gorgeous scenery.

The hotel is a 15min walk from the town centre, but that was fine as we planned to walk around and explore the place anyway. The good part is the hotel is located right next to the cable ride up to Matterhorn, and you can head straight back to the room to rest upon the return trip.

I would have preferred the room to be equipped with a minibar, where we can store beers and other alcohols. Nonetheless, I would definitely recommend Focus to my friends!

Room Tip: specify the rooms you want if you have certain expectations of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013. We were on our honeymoon at the time and the hotel clearly got the message by providing us with a room covered in rose petals!

The hotel is not right in the centre of Zermatt- it is about a 10-15 minute to the centre. The hotel staff collected us from the station and returned us there for free as they will for anyone on request- recommended versus struggling up the hill with cases.

Entry to the hotel is via a slightly alarming James Bond style tunnel and glass lift. Apparently this is quite common for Zermatt, but was a bit of a novelty for us.

The hotel is sold on the concepts of 'design' and 'privacy'. Overall it succeeds on both counts, whilst perhaps looking a little tired in parts. We had a room facing towards Zermatt with ceiling to floor windows. The room wasn't huge but had a balcony, a sitting area and shower room. Pretty clean with plenty of storage space, a safe and fast free wifi.

Hotel facilities include small indoor and outdoor pools that are connected to each other. The outdoor pool acts like a giant hot tub and is fitted with benches. We spent a good while lying back on these drinking glasses of Champagne whilst watching the cable cars fly past - highly recommended!

Breakfast is served near the reception from an extensive and high quality buffet. As numerous others have said, the hotel does not have a restaurant but does have the ability to provide limited room service (pizza, soup etc). We did order food from this service and it wasn't brilliant, but it was easier than walking into the centre of Zermatt after a long trip to the Matterhorn.

The staff helped us with printing boarding passes, laundry and various other bits of information. They were friendly and efficient.

Overall we had a good stay and I would likely return. There are lots of great hotels in Zermatt so shop around, but give this one serious consideration. If we were to come back we would likely do so at Christmas as swimming in the hot pool with snow on the ground sounds irresistible!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows (I.E not those with just a skylight) are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Quirky and modern decor greet guests as they ascend to the lobby by elevator from the access tunnel. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quiet and clean. Breakfast was outstanding, and the location is excellent for hiking south up the valley. I only had a few minor complaints: the cable car tower does occlude views of the Matterhorn from many rooms, and the sound of the cables moving is noticeable from 8-5pm. The lack of a restaurant can be tiresome when you are exhausted from a day of hiking, and then you need to walk 10 min to eat, but it's manageable. The shower is a bit small (and no tub), and the room had a bit too much furniture for its size, but overall, we were quite satisfied and I would recommend this hotel, caveats aside.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for Christmas 2011 and loved it. Great location close to the gondola and a beautiful easy walk to the main village every night. Rooms are fantastic and decorated like no other I have stayed in. Lovely hosts and outstanding pool, spa and wellness centre. Will be coming back soon. Dining open for breakfast only but wasn't an issue as we ate out every night in the village.

Room Tip: Matterhorn view rooms are sensational and worth the money. We had a valley view room and it was equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

So they don't have a restaurant in the hotel but restaurants are nearby enough. They do sell sandwich so you can have a bite in your room, which has GREAT view of Matterhorn.
We only stayed over night and left early for summer ski, but they'd let us use their shower after check out. Great location for skiing as the lift is right at the door step. They have indoor/outdoor jacuzzi too. The room was spacious with bathrobe and slippers with Nespresso machine. We also stayed at the Kulm hotel at the top of mountain but we both agreed this Matterhorn Focus is way better and the Matterhorn looks prettier too from this angle. Breakfast was fantastic too.

Room Tip: Make sure to get Matterhorn view. Worth the extra you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Matterhorn Focus for two nights this week, booked on the basis of availability, and reviews on this site. Because we booked relatively late, there were only suites available, and we ended up with the Dom suite, which is on the top left hand corner of the hotel as you face the Matterhorn. As it is the furthest away from the Matterhorn, it also meant we could get unobstructed views (and photographs) of the Matterhorn, whereas perhaps the ret of Sitting on our balcony in the evening, looking at the changing light on the mountain, and waking up to the view of the mountain from our bed, were lovely experiences. If only there had been a mini-bar in the room, it would have saved us having to go down to the bar every time we wanted a drink.

The suite was large, with a comfortable seating area, and bathroom with a lovely bath, and separate shower. Lots of storage, and reasonable lighting. Bed very comfortable. We could have happily stayed longer. Only minor quibbles were, given the price, we missed having a sewing kit (which for once I needed) and a shower cap (surprised not to find this).

Breakfast was excellent. Reception staff were helpful, reserving us a restaurant one evening, and helping us find an electronics shop where we could buy a flash drive, and recommended a couple of walks. They have good maps. Lack of a restaurant wasn't an issue for us, but if the weather had been bad, then it might have become a problem.

The taxi service to and from the station is efficient and friendly. On arrival from Tasch, there is a large board with all the hotels listed. Find the name, and ring the corresponding number on the phone there, and they will pick you up.

Location is at the far end of town. If you're planning on going to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise, then you can't get a better location! We asked at reception, and they recommended we go to Gornergrat instead - the station is opposite the main station at e other end of town. In summer this wasn't an issue - it's maybe 10-15 minutes walk, downhill. It's an easy walk back too, even though it is slightly uphill.

All in all a positive experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Address: Winkelmattenweg 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matterhorn Focus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.