We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great skiing, great hotel....the perfect Xmas combination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matterhorn Focus to your Saves list
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Winkelmattenweg 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great skiing, great hotel....the perfect Xmas combination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After staying the year before at the Coeur des Alpes and not being able to get in this Christmas we opted to spend Xmas 2012 at the Matterhorn Focus. May we state that in no way were we disappointed, in fact we would go so far as saying that the Focus is half a point better than the Coeur des Alpes (it's newer, better Spa and the owners & staff could not do enough to make one's stay perfect - well done, top marks guys!!). Plus it's about 20 paces from the ski lift!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Owner at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear TA Member

We are very happy that we have met your expectations.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your overall stay.We are glad to hear that you appreciated your stay and it is our pleasure to share your review with our team. To us there is hardly anything sweeter than a compliment for a job well done.

We will continue on that path and the FOCUS hopes to be on your list, if your travel plans should lead you back to Zermatt.

In the meantime, stay well and enjoy the summer.

Yours sincerely. Chris & Sonja Noti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    37
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
225
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because it was in a location close to the cable cars as we did not want to be lugging ski equipment up steep climbs every morning and when we got there the location was even close than we thought so it was a short walk from the hotel and we were ready to catch the cable car to the slopes. We thought it would be a problem with the hotel not having a restaurant but the breakfast was amazing in the mornings so we ate a substantial breakfast then by the time we returned from skiing there were light snacks in the lounge, then for dinner a lovely walk to the picturesque village to try the myriad of restaurants in the village proper. Our bedroom was everything anyone could wish for with a comfortable bed (so comfortable my husband now wants one for home) a coffee making machine, one of those nespresso types, hairdryer and all bathroom requirements. Our room was walled glass overseeing the majestic Matterhorn, truly breathtaking. I was not so much the keen skier as my husband but this was not a problem as a quick ski in the morning an I would return to the hotel to relax in the pool ans health spa area, I truly felt I was living in luxury when I could swim from the heated pool to the outdoor spa and watch the snow falling while I was immersed in bubbles. The staff completed this amazing package, all were so helpful and nothing was too much as when we had problems with our luggage arriving from the airport they were on the phone for ages and set everything right and made it appear effortless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Owner at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Susanne L

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experiences. Thanks a lot for the good feedback and the great compliments. We are very pleased that you have spent a great time in Zermatt and enjoyed your stay with us at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again as our guests.
Best regards from Zermatt to Australia, Chris & Sonja Noti, hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came to Zermatt for spring skiing in mid-April There were so many positive reviews about the Matterhorn Focus we had to stay here. We were astounded at the luxury. The location is 10 minute walk out of town but if you are a skier/snowboarder, you will love that the hotel is very close to the Matterhorn tram and gondolas. There is also a ski rental shop nearby as well.

The rooms are spacious with wonderful bathrooms and coffeemakers. The beds are extremely comfortable! The hotel only serves breakfast (although there are many snacks!); we looked forward steaming hot tea, hot chocolate and coffee every morning. The selection of food was very good, with some delicous baked delicacies. There are many restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel.

The spa and pool stand out brighly in this hotel. The pool is indoor and outdoor. There are also luxurious steam and sauna and a relation room. We felt very pampered.

The ski lockers are adjacent to the entrance; each ski locker has a boot warmer.

We spent three days and two wonderful nights; our third night (in April) the hotel was fully booked. The staff was excellent; they apologized and found us another wonderful hotel (the Berghof) nearby.

There is no doubt we will come again.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Matterhorn view room; although remember that the weather may not cooperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Owner at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Chris E

Thank you very much for your great review about your stay in the FOCUS. We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Compliments for a job well done are always rewarding and motivate our team to go on their way to make our guest’s stay a memorable one.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the FOCUS and send you our best regards
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived at Zermatt early afternoon and prompt pickup by the hotel shuttle, glad it fit 2 families seating 7! Check-in went smoothly and front desk staff Jasmina was most friendly. We didn't know but 4/27-4/28 was their last day of winter opening before closing for the spring then reopening for the summer, so we were glad we got to stay there. We had a family of 4 so got upgraded to the Focus suite which offered a corner view of the Matterhorn and another view of the village. The terrace was very nice with a great view and fresh air. The suite was very spacious with the sofa converted to another Queen sized bed. I can see how their combination of interior design and friendliness of the staff made them a superior hotel in the city. The interior design elements and the extensive use of glass made the suite very cozy and romantic. Unfortunately we went on a weekend with rain and snow so not much of a great view to speak of, and the Gornergrat train even had to cut short its trip as it was blizzard like weather up top.
Breakfast was also lovely. It's continental in design but plenty of choices and there's scramble eggs and poached eggs so we're plenty stuffed. We did get to meet the owners at check-out and they were lovely.
Would recommend returning for a cozy romantic stay. The only caveat is it's about a 3 CHF per person for a taxi ride to the train station if you want to go in town to check out shops and restaurants, but if you can walk it's probably a 20 min walk. They only provide free transportation for check-in and check-out only.

Room Tip: Any room with the Matterhorn view would be ideal. Their website is pretty accurate in description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Owner at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel Matterhorn Focus. It is always great to hear that the people liked our style, infrastructure and services. We will hand over your feedback to our team. Thank you very much and we would love to see you again at the FOCUS.
Kind regards and have a great time.
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon in April 2013 and stayed in a Deluxe Room in building C. It was absolutely wonderful. The staff helped us with our every need; restaurants for lunch and dinner, skiing, and anything else we asked for. The views, of course, are second to none and absolutely breathtaking. The Hotel is a bit of a walk from the main street in Zermatt, but we did not find this to a problem it all. It was actually quite nice to be able to walk around and enjoy the weather and take in the sights and the beautiful mountain atmosphere. We will 100% stay at the Focus again when we return to Zermatt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Owner at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mark M

Thank you very much for being our guests.
We are very pleased indeed that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be very honored to be your host again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt.

Take care and have a great summer.

Yours sincerely Chris & Sonja Noti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF/Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Europe and the last 3 nights were spent at Matterhorn Focus. Our 11 year old son chose the Matterhorn Focus after researching hotels on Trip Advisor. It was not #1 at the time but he was immediately drawn to the indoor/outdoor pool and easy access to the gondola for skiing.

He chose well. The location of the hotel, high up on the hill at the end of town, meant incredible views and a sense of being away from it all. The family room was the best we have encountered and a great value in or outside of Zermatt. Our family of four was very comfortable. I can't imagine a better view of the Matterhorn. We arrived on a snowy afternoon and only saw a partial glimpse of the Matterhorn before bed. Our son woke before the rest of us and had already taken numerous pictures of the spectacular sight of the Matterhorn right outside our room before excitedly waking us to come see.

Everything about the stay was delightful. The interior is fun and luxurious without being stuffy. Breakfast was plentiful with great variety. The front desk staff was very helpful -from dinner reservations to arranging a drs appointment when I injured my back the last day.

It was very easy to rent skis and getting to the gondola could not be easier. We skied to Italy the first day and were blessed to experience nearly perfect ski conditions.

Our favorite feature, and the reason our son chose the hotel, was the heated indoor/outdoor pool. The pool is most popular at the end of the ski day before dinner, so we had it to ourselves after dinner and before bed each night. The atmosphere in the pool is perfect whether inside or outside. It was a lovely way to wind down before a great nights sleep.

Our only constructive feedback concerns the check-out process. We were never told that there would be a charge for any room keys that were not returned at check-out. It may have been on the check-in paperwork somewhere but fees of this kind should always be verbally confirmed. The keys are the card variety commonly considered disposable at many hotels. We left ours in the room and did not have time to return to the room and make our train. The woman at the front desk was not prepared to make an exception - she seemed reluctant to let it go even after the owner came out and said it was ok. Last impressions are important. Front desk staff should understand when customer experience matters more than the price of a card key - particularly when told the keys were in the room.

However, given how wonderful everything else was, and the fact that we would love to return, we can't let one small incident change our feelings about our overall experience. The Hotel Matterhorn Focus deserves the high praise it receives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and of course for selecting hotel Matterhorn FOCUS as your residence during your recent trip to Zermatt.

We are very pleased indeed that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be very honored to be your host again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt.

Yours sincerely Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This has been a late review....We chose this hotel based on the other TA reviews and highly recommend this great place for great Matterhorn views. We would definitely stayed here again when we next visit the Matterhorn. A slight long walk (15mins) to town if the weather was not perfect but the accomodation is one of the closest you can get to the Matterhorn.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experiences. Thanks a lot for the good feedback and the great compliments. We are very pleased that you have spent a great time in Zermatt and enjoyed your stay with us at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon as our guests.
Best regards from the Matterhorn village, Chris & Sonja Noti, hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Address: Winkelmattenweg 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matterhorn Focus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.