We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place especially apres ski” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elsie's Bar

Elsie's Bar
Kirchplatz 16, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
41 27 967 24 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 173 Restaurants in Zermatt
Restaurant details
Crowthorne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place especially apres ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Somewhere to experience for the evening, the place is always crowded and buzzing with activity. It can be hard to get a place to sit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited Elsie's after hearing all of the hype. The exterior was fairly mysterious and pulled us in. Inside however I would say that the place is nothing more than your average Swiss pub. The staff were nice enough, the wine was good, but all in all I wouldn't say that it was anything to write a postcard home about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a cute tiny little bar. The people were really nice, both patrons and bar tender and waitress. This bar is the epitome of what you hope your travel experience will include. it was fun, good, surprising and felt like a little bit of authentic Swiss life!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We read and heard great things. It seems success is not always good. It was crowded and we had very poor service. Not sure if it's a local's place and they know the ropes or what. It is a nice place inside. I guess get there early, put that's not always possible. As others said, also expensive, which I don't mind if the experience is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fancy & Pricey Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped in for drinks and loved the cozy feel of the place, but quickly realized we were out of place. Everyone there was older and dressed up-some were wearing furs... So we finished our very expensive drinks and moved on to a bar that catered to a younger crowd. The staff was pleasant enough, it just wasn't a welcoming place for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsie's Bar also viewed

Zermatt, Valais
Zermatt, Valais
 
Zermatt, Valais
 

Been to Elsie's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elsie's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.