We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place especially apres ski” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elsie's Bar

Elsie's Bar
Kirchplatz 16, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
41 27 967 24 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place especially apres ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Somewhere to experience for the evening, the place is always crowded and buzzing with activity. It can be hard to get a place to sit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineMaryAinslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited Elsie's after hearing all of the hype. The exterior was fairly mysterious and pulled us in. Inside however I would say that the place is nothing more than your average Swiss pub. The staff were nice enough, the wine was good, but all in all I wouldn't say that it was anything to write a postcard home about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank l1ttlem1ssf1nch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a cute tiny little bar. The people were really nice, both patrons and bar tender and waitress. This bar is the epitome of what you hope your travel experience will include. it was fun, good, surprising and felt like a little bit of authentic Swiss life!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancijoporten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We read and heard great things. It seems success is not always good. It was crowded and we had very poor service. Not sure if it's a local's place and they know the ropes or what. It is a nice place inside. I guess get there early, put that's not always possible. As others said, also expensive, which I don't mind if the experience is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fancy & Pricey Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped in for drinks and loved the cozy feel of the place, but quickly realized we were out of place. Everyone there was older and dressed up-some were wearing furs... So we finished our very expensive drinks and moved on to a bar that catered to a younger crowd. The staff was pleasant enough, it just wasn't a welcoming place for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsie's Bar also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Elsie's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing