We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elsie's Bar

Elsie's Bar
Kirchplatz 16, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
41 27 967 24 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 172 restaurants in Zermatt
Restaurant details
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a cute tiny little bar. The people were really nice, both patrons and bar tender and waitress. This bar is the epitome of what you hope your travel experience will include. it was fun, good, surprising and felt like a little bit of authentic Swiss life!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    33
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We read and heard great things. It seems success is not always good. It was crowded and we had very poor service. Not sure if it's a local's place and they know the ropes or what. It is a nice place inside. I guess get there early, put that's not always possible. As others said, also expensive, which I don't mind if the experience is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fancy & Pricey Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped in for drinks and loved the cozy feel of the place, but quickly realized we were out of place. Everyone there was older and dressed up-some were wearing furs... So we finished our very expensive drinks and moved on to a bar that catered to a younger crowd. The staff was pleasant enough, it just wasn't a welcoming place for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great vibe !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Extremely friendly service and a great atmosphere. Highly recommendable for a late night drink after dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Bar in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This little gem is the most inviting locale I visited in my travels across Switzerland. The ambience is warm and welcoming and visiting with Philippe and Valerie was definitely the highlight. They are a very educated, informed, and delightful couple. Treat yourself to a wonderful time and conversation. By the way, this bar has a respectable whisky collection so do not miss out next time you are in Zermatt.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsie's Bar also viewed

Zermatt, Valais
Zermatt, Valais
 
Zermatt, Valais
 

Been to Elsie's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elsie's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.