We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and varied food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockhorn Grill

Stockhorn Grill
Riedstr. 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
0041-27-967 17 47
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 178 Restaurants in Zermatt
Cuisines: Swiss, Barbecue, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious and varied food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From meat to fondues, many options and all very tasty! I took a cream soup and pasta, my friends some meat and others fondue and we all were enjoying a lot! Service was very good as well

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    71
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Biggest Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our worst night out during our trip - Menu was limited, and the dishes were awful! The meat/lamb was tasteless and I could have cooked it better myself. No fish dishes and the vegetarian dish on the menu did not list that it comes in a cream sauce and was also awful. The service was equally bad and unfriendly to match. Would avoid this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Having been in Zermatt for a week, we were looking for that special last night out. Stochhorn was recommended by our hotel. The night was however disappointing. The steak was OK but not as good as any average restaurant at home (Sydney Australia). For the non meat eater and there is always one in a group of 4 or more, there was very little choice. No fish main meal and the pasta dish was meant to be ravioli with mushrooms and truffle oil, but was served with a rich cream and cheese source not mentioned on the menu. Service was very basic and we were told if we did not like the meal it could be changed, although the waiter was very adament that what was on the menu was it. My recommendation is go to Chez Max Julien where the service and food was outstanding !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Grill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my favorite restaurant of our trip. They specialize in grill and fondue. The service was friendly. The food was fantastic -- I had chicken skewers and my husband had a steak. The came with ample sides and a salad. In addition, the apple struedel for dessert was amazing! Very cute decor as well.

Tips:
The upstairs is a bit more quiet and less crowded than the downstairs.
If you want chicken (other than skewers), you must let them know in advance (when you make the reservation).
And of course, in Zermatt...Reservations are a must!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Their fondue with valasian dish is very good.
Do place a reservation - especially on week ends as it gets full quite fast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockhorn Grill also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Stockhorn Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockhorn Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.