We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful traditional fondue chinoise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bergrestaurant Blatten

Bergrestaurant Blatten
Postfach 66, Blatten, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
027 967 20 96
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 175 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $19 - $24
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional fondue chinoise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was one of a corporate party who had the pleasure of walking from Zermatt to the restaurant for a wonderful relaxed traditional fondue chinoise meal; the service was very good, the owner makes a big effort and the sliced meat and french fries just kept on coming! I also really enjoyed my first experience of enjoying drinking the fondue bouillon with a good dash of sherry; a truly memorable meal in a characterful friendly mountain restaurant. We walked back into Zermatt on the piste with flame torches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charm and Quality - swiss made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This mountain restaurant located on the ski slopes of furi, zermatt has lovely interiors and great terraces. Be it soupe aux bolets, rostis or fromages all are finger licking. Their staff professional and efficient. Their particularity is the wednesday evening dinners. Don't forget to reserve before you go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A friend and I walked from Zermatt to this restaurant. It is also on a ski run that you could ski to it. It was a wonderful experience. We were cold and tired and the restaurant was warm and cozy. I had the pastry topped truffle soup which was so yummy. I forget what my friend had. The service was good and the price was reasonable - especially for the area. It is not a fancy building, but it seems very authentic. Walking there and eating made a wonderful excursion. And yes, do be sure to visit the ladies toilet - I could see the matterhorn from my stall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Simply the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This lovely quaint restaurant is truly fantastic. Zermatt abounds with good eateries, but Blatten excels even this. Fab service delicious food a great place to sit awhile and admire the view.
Even the loos are the bet on the mountain !
I had filet steak and asparagus and my husband prawns and asparagus with apple fritters to follow. All was amazing !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Atmospheric mountain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited as a family last week and enjoyed Blatten. The truffle soup was superb, as was the veal fillt with morel sauce, but my daughters' tagliatelle with tomato sauce was a little dull compared with similar offerings earlier in the week. The restaurant is one of the oldest in Zermatt and is owned by the famous Taugwalder family, so it has plenty of atmosphere. Booking, as with anywhere else in Zermatt, is pretty much essential. There is a small outside terrace which catches the sun and is a great spot as long as it isn't too cold.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bergrestaurant Blatten also viewed

 

Been to Bergrestaurant Blatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bergrestaurant Blatten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;