We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food, the view and the people make the difference at Vrony's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Vrony

Restaurant Chez Vrony
Findeln, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
0041 (0) 27 967 25 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 178 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $94
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The food, the view and the people make the difference at Vrony's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Walking from the top of Rothorn this summer 2013, 20 min down from Sunnega, we booked a table for 4 on the terrace of Chez Vrony. I discovered this mountain restaurant 10 years ago, skiing during a very cold January. Over the past 10 years, the spirit of the restaurant hasn't changed. The owners are are still very friendly, the staff wonderful and the menu the best of any mountain restaurant I have been to. The menu isn't very large, but it seems that everything is prepared and cooked on premises with local products whenever possible. My baby goat cutlets with season vegetables was marvellous. 10 years ago my veal chop with morels was from heaven. Good people who genuinely want to serve and please guests with the best local food in an amazing environment... I won't wait another 10 years before coming back!
Our charming and fit waitress told us that the walk back down to Zermatt was only 30 min... It actually took us 1h30. Either we are not as fit as we wish to be or we should have skipped the desert. Anyway the walk down, through the forest (left pathway to Zermatt) was gentle and under the shade, which helped making it back to the village not looking red as a lobster!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    102
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Except the view, nothing much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Against many reviews below, my experience at Chez Vrony was below expectations. Agree, the views are spectacular and you kinda understand high prices as you are located in the middle of the mountains (chf 9.50 for 1 ltr. of sparkling water). However, ordered the "baby-goat" dish and the meat was very fat. Left 30% on the plate. The Caesar salad was ok, just. The only main dish really good was the trout. Having a decaf expresso at the end only to see that it was instant coffee. Have nothing against instant coffee, but please tell me you dont have espresso. And the taste was bad. 3 people, lunch for around 150 chf. Not worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level Contributor
284 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic location and wonderful food. The atmosphere of this family restaurant is wonderful, the organic and natural food out of this world. All fresh, prepared with love. Try traditional Swiss or go for light and creative, no matter you cannot go wrong. Friendly and efficient service. Just GREAT with views of the mountains to die for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food with views to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We hiked up from Zermatt (85mins) to make sure we were hungry hoping that the experience matched the reviews. The restaurant was a delight, staff were very friendly, Max welcomed us and the food was fantastic with spectacular views. We shared a Vrony burger and one of the specials - beef stroganoff. Both were fabulous, but the stroganoff was the winner. Strong intense flavors, melt in the mouth beef and served with delicious polenta and summer vegetables. We finished off with the toberlerone mousse and fruit tart along with a double espresso -the espresso the only slight letdown, though it is unusual to get a typically rich Italian espresso in Switzerland. The bill was Chf119 which is expensive by normal standards, but this is Zermatt and so was actually good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked a large table for lunch and were not disappointed. You can walk down to the restaurant for non skiers, as some of our party did but I would recommend taking ski poles as the walk is quite steep. The food and atmosphere is fantastic with prices to match, which is what you would expect in such a well known alpine restaurant. The platter of charcuterie was fabulous, J's Truffle risotto delicious and fragrant. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Vrony also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Vrony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chez Vrony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.