We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Vrony

Restaurant Chez Vrony
Findeln, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
0041 (0) 27 967 25 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 174 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $24 - $94
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bretagne
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic location and wonderful food. The atmosphere of this family restaurant is wonderful, the organic and natural food out of this world. All fresh, prepared with love. Try traditional Swiss or go for light and creative, no matter you cannot go wrong. Friendly and efficient service. Just GREAT with views of the mountains to die for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    69
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food with views to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We hiked up from Zermatt (85mins) to make sure we were hungry hoping that the experience matched the reviews. The restaurant was a delight, staff were very friendly, Max welcomed us and the food was fantastic with spectacular views. We shared a Vrony burger and one of the specials - beef stroganoff. Both were fabulous, but the stroganoff was the winner. Strong intense flavors, melt in the mouth beef and served with delicious polenta and summer vegetables. We finished off with the toberlerone mousse and fruit tart along with a double espresso -the espresso the only slight letdown, though it is unusual to get a typically rich Italian espresso in Switzerland. The bill was Chf119 which is expensive by normal standards, but this is Zermatt and so was actually good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked a large table for lunch and were not disappointed. You can walk down to the restaurant for non skiers, as some of our party did but I would recommend taking ski poles as the walk is quite steep. The food and atmosphere is fantastic with prices to match, which is what you would expect in such a well known alpine restaurant. The platter of charcuterie was fabulous, J's Truffle risotto delicious and fragrant. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstaad, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

it is my fav. Restaurant in Zermatt and area. Staff super friendly. Foood very very good. You have to make a reservation as if not you will not be able to get a table. you have to try the burger. It is the best i ve ever had. Vrony and Max are realy good hosts. ill def. go back. and you have the best view to the matterhorn.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family have been to Zermatt for the last 20 plus years and we always stop here for lunch or a quick drink. The food is wonderful and the staff are always pleasant and very efficient. It is such a charming place, with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn. On a sunny afternoon you can just let life pass you by on the terrace with a long cool drink. Heaven on earth!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Vrony also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Chez Vrony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chez Vrony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.