We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Vrony

Restaurant Chez Vrony
Findeln, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
0041 (0) 27 967 25 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 175 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $24 - $94
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked a large table for lunch and were not disappointed. You can walk down to the restaurant for non skiers, as some of our party did but I would recommend taking ski poles as the walk is quite steep. The food and atmosphere is fantastic with prices to match, which is what you would expect in such a well known alpine restaurant. The platter of charcuterie was fabulous, J's Truffle risotto delicious and fragrant. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    70
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gstaad, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

it is my fav. Restaurant in Zermatt and area. Staff super friendly. Foood very very good. You have to make a reservation as if not you will not be able to get a table. you have to try the burger. It is the best i ve ever had. Vrony and Max are realy good hosts. ill def. go back. and you have the best view to the matterhorn.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family have been to Zermatt for the last 20 plus years and we always stop here for lunch or a quick drink. The food is wonderful and the staff are always pleasant and very efficient. It is such a charming place, with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn. On a sunny afternoon you can just let life pass you by on the terrace with a long cool drink. Heaven on earth!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best view and best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I just spend all the winter season working in Zermatt. I love going skiing every days off, I went few time during the season and every time I loved more and more this restaurant! It has a wonderful inside but in the sunny day the terrasse is the best you can get! Absolutely the best view! Regarding the food I can say just nice things! My favorite dish was the Vrony Burger, the best I ever had, the bread is so crunchy and fresh, the meat just melt in your mounth and the cabbage and carrots salad inside the burger is the best! I had also the Rösti (average) and the tartare ( really good). Dessert don't miss the Toblerone mousse with passionfruit. I can't wait to go back to Vrony! Always book a table the day before!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

So, you've read the reviews, and, providing you can ski a tricky blue run - you will be heading to Chez Vrony if you are in Zermatt.... that was how we found ourselves there on an afternoon in April in the middle of our ski day.
We only had tea (which wasn't in fact that nice) but I really wish we could have stayed for food. All of the dishes that swished past our table looked divine, and if it hadn't been for the fact that we were missing one of our number who was meeting us in the village we would have eaten there in a shot.
I heard that Richard Branson had his NYE party there... if it's good enough for Richard...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Vrony also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Chez Vrony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chez Vrony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.