We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find in the heart of Sion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pont

Grand Pont
6 Rue du Grand Pont | Roduit Christophe et Fellay Stephanie, Sion, Switzerland
27 322 20 96
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Sion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French, Japanese, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A lovely find in the heart of Sion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

An eclectic menu. In our group some had sushi whilst other had foie gras. Great lunch time buzzing atmosphere. Very attentive waiter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    62
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Well situated in the old town of Sion, this brasserie combines very well a Brasserie ambiance with very good and innovative food. In addition, the staff isvery easy going and helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good cuisine, great atmosphere and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We go regularly to the Brasserie Gran Pont in Sion. The restaurant is quite exceptional in the Valais where most restaurants are very traditional. Here, the cuisine is an intelligent combination of traditional and fusion, while the menu follows the seasons. In autumn for example they have a great hunting season menu, but you will always find traditional brasserie foods next to asian-inspired dishes. The deserts are delicious. I almost forgot that the restaurant has a good local wine list with many wines being sold by the glass.

The interior is pleasant with soft lightning and the service is always friendly and efficient. In summer, there is a good terrace.

Finally, the price/quality ratio is decent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An exceedingly pleasant place for a relaxed but not slow lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are visiting Sion, you will want to take a lunch break, but you will probably not want to spend two hours at lunch as you will have more things you want to see (such as climb up the hill to the Chateau Tourbillon). in the middle of the old town is the main street, along which there are some cafes and restaurants. We ate at the Brasserie Grand Pont. The establishment is not small, maybe seating 75 inside, but on a sunny October Saturday it was full. Fortunately, the weather permitted outdoor dining (this is a pedestrian precinct) and there was still a table available. The local wines light and charming. We were late diners and several of the plats du jour were already crossed off the menu, but the risotto was delicious and the salad with pears, blue cheese, nuts and fennel was delicious as it was beautiful. Despite how busy the place was, the dishes came in a reasonable time frame and the service was attentive. It appeared we were the only people speaking English, and as soon as the waitress realized this, she happily switched into English and made sure we understood everything on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite meal in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My father and I sat down for lunch when we were walking around historic Sion. We sat outside and the cute pedestrian zone made for excellent atmosphere. Our waiter was very attentive and spoke English well. I had one of the daily specials: salad with arugula, mint, fresh peach, fresh mozzarella, and strips of cured ham. This was toward the end of our trip, and I was quite tired of the variations on bread, cheese, and meat we'd subsisted on for almost every meal, so this was very welcome.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Pont also viewed

Sion, Canton of Valais
Sion, Canton of Valais
 
Sion, Canton of Valais
Sion, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Grand Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.