We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but Great Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furka Cogwheel Steam Railway

Furka Cogwheel Steam Railway
Switzerland
0848 000 144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 139 Attractions in Valais
Type: Scenic Railroads
Attraction Details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked the trip over email a few months back, and paid on the day. We travelled from Realp to Gletsch by steam then changed to diesel down the hill.
Only thing to be aware of is the train leaves from a seperate station in Realp which is about 10 minutes walk from the MGB one.
We had reserved seats in the front coach, the guard even came down to tell us what was going on as we were the only non German speakers on the train, this was a very nice touch.
The train stopped at Furka for about 20 minutes and we sampled some excellent cake and cheese.
The trip was very expensive 146sfr for the pair of us for a single ticket, but well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When in the Goms this is a 'must visit'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have made several visits to this wonderful little restored railway service. It lies high in the Swiss Alps between Oberwald and Realp, replacing what was the mainline traffic which now dissappears into a tunnel, missing the superb Furka Pass Scenery.
Our first visit caused the Tourist Information Service of Interlaken a great deal of wonderment. We had found something they hadn't heard of! Luckily a young lad at the Wilderswil TIO had, so we were able to make the necessary bookings. An early start from Wilderswil to Meiringen, a full coach from Meiringen to Gletsch and a dash for the train and we made a full day excursion on this magical railway. Ran by enthusiasts for enthusiasts, this makes the best kind of attraction!
When you consider that the engines were first built in the very early 20th Century for varying cog railways in Switzerland, then sold to Vietnam and latterly found deep in the jungle and recovered to Winterthur for rebuilds this must be the greatest little railway in the world!
Our latest trip involved an early cablecar from Bettmeralp near Brig, the reglio train (running up between the posher Glacier Expresses) to Oberwald in the Upper Goms, the change to the Furka Damphbahn here into the valley at Gletsch and the super run up through the old summit tunnel and down to Realp where we first had a nice meal in the old carriage Diner serenaded by the Station Master and his accordian! Changed to the main line, just a short walk, and onto 'new tunnel' car carrier back to Oberwald and back down to Betten on the reglio, then the cablecar to our rented chalet-apartment on the shelf of land known as Bettmeralp. In all a superb day out!
The dates that this railway attraction runs is very tight in the year, mainly just part of July, August and a section of September, due to the high alpine weather, so be sure to get your holiday timing right. Avoid a massive disappointment!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

For anyone who loves scenery or riding behind steam engines this is a real must.
The journey from Realp to Oberwald, along the Furka Pass, has it all - excellent scenery - including the Rhone Glacier, spotless engines and carriages and polite, enthusiastic staff.
Throw in a stop for refreshments at Furka ( with the opportunity to buy local produce as well) and you have a perfect day out.
However, as the railway only runs for about 72 days a year (owing to snow etc) advance booking is absolutely necessary for the full journey trains - so don't just turn up and expect to travel. We booked in April for a trip in September.
Don't forget to take your camera !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful old steam engine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a comfortable journey by Swiss Rail way starting from Zurich Central via Arth-Goldau-Göschenen and to Realp where we got on that beautiful old railway train. The perfectly polished and well oiled old locomotive engine was just a dream for those who are interested in steam engines. The journey up to Gletsch was very impressive but the famous Glacier du Rhone was no longer to be seen. It was a rather ugly sight of sand and rocks unfortunately and it showed us dramatically how the climate had been changing. You can only imagine how it used to be by looking at old picture postcards. The stretch from Glesch to Oberwald was one of the most impressive train trips I ever had. After the lunch, during which we enjoyed local specialties, we took the same stretch back to Realp but it was not boring at all e.g. the Sun was shining differently. The round trip ticket for this particular railway only costs much, e.g. CHF 121.- (in July 2012) for a 2nd class ticket but after the trip I would say, it is really worth paying!.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A taste of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Another 'must do' for my train enthusiast husband! It was a lovely trip behind a steam train up into the 'hills' of Furka. It seems very odd that this was once the main line until the tunnel was built between Oberwald and Realp. The trip takes over 2 hours with a stop at Furka - where the trains pass. Here there is a cafe serving all kinds of things - sausages, cold drinks, beer, cheese, ice-cream...

To travel on the steam train requires a reservation, and is quite expensive, but this is because it costs so much to run the train and maintain it.

Well worth going on if you are a train enthusiast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furka Cogwheel Steam Railway also viewed

Valais, Swiss Alps
Valais, Swiss Alps
 

Been to Furka Cogwheel Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furka Cogwheel Steam Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.