We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpe food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luce Al Gargantini

Luce Al Gargantini
Riva Giocondo Albertolli 5., Lugano 6900, Switzerland
+41 91 921 18 76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 249 Restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $22 - $42
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining
Description: In front of lake Lugano, the restaurant is just 2 blocks away from Lugano's City Hall.
Locarno, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carpe food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Quality fresh products elevated to a better taste and attentive service are the success recipe in this restaurant. Opened not long ago but already one of the reference among Lugano's restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Center
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“For high quality time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

At once we find in Switzerland a Restaurant that does not target austerity-service, without being too exclusive. This place deserves all the good words spent for it by previous reviewers.
The environment is raffinated, despite casually dressed people can can still fit in it. Service is first class. Food is absolutely fine, inspiring and worth the charge. Employee's kindness is also a to be remarked. There's lake view as well, as the room is about one meter above the lake front road. High quality time at a very reasonable price, for Lugano's average. Skip the tourists traps in Piazza della Riforma and enjoy something special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found this restaurant by looking into this site and I would say that all the comments below are confirmed. An elegant space where I had an excellent dinner with two friends, one of those took the argentinian fillet. He said it remembered him the original "bife de chorizo" he tried in Buenos Aires. I ordered a fish crudité (what a wonderful starter!!!) and a tuna steak with caramelized onions and a squid ink cracker: great dish, I'm still thinking of it.
Combine everything with a bottle of chilled white malbec and enjoy!
For sure I will come back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of 16 people from Europe, in the context of a european funded program. I would say that the service was OK but somehow slow. The decoration was simple but very promising. Comfortable chairs and tables. Clean and well maintained. About the food, I tried risoto and pasta and antipasti, all of excellent quality. The restaurant has a distinctive wines' variety.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place to go back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On suggestion of the hotel we went to this restaurant. Very nice view and very nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Perfect hosts. Service was very friendly. Dishes were very well executed. I had tempura salmon, tuna and argentine beef. Definitely a place to go to when in Lugano.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luce Al Gargantini also viewed

 

Been to Luce Al Gargantini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luce Al Gargantini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.