We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottegone del Vino

Bottegone del Vino
Via Magatti 3, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
91 922 76 89
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 249 Restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $27 - $72
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Casorate Primo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I fully agree with other reviewers who liked this restaurant. I had an excellent evening. Very good Italian food, especially salads, and very reasonably priced - good value for money. The waitress was charming, spoke good English, and asked if we had been before. We hadn't so she offered to explain the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    85
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Personal service, great wine list, class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Eating ain't cheap in Lugano. Get over it, and share your dishes. That's hat we did here at this classy, but informal, restaurant in beautiful, classy Lugano. Our first course was veal tartare with grana (yum), our second course was incollete (pasta) with seafood/tomato sauce (double-yum). We spent our shekels on Ticino wine, if which this restaurant has gobs. Plus, we got to hear free music wafting into the restaurant fom the festival in and around the downtown area. It's wonderful to go to a terrific restaurant and be treated like an adult. Did I mention the solicitous waitstaff?
Bravi!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lovely evening, very friendly and relaxed place, the weather outside was very wet so inside was full and people were getting turned away. Mixed meat and bruscheta starters, pasta course (with baby octopus on top) and a meat main course was all excellently presented and enjoybale to eat. I cannot remember what wine I had, the white to start was smooth, I normally don't drink white, and then the red wine went very well with the food, as did the grappa with the sorbet before the sweet after. I hope to return one day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went for dinner late in the evening without a reservation. Despite being busy they and getting ready to close the kitchen they made room for us.

The staff were extremely friendly and patient (my wife speaks a little Italian, I don't speak any) when explaining the menu. The food itself was simple but really very good and was served very quickly.

The waiters were also able to recommend some great wine. Just be careful as some of the wine is expansive by the glass. This is not helped by the fact that there are no prices displayed anywhere for the wine.

Overall I'd come back again for sure and would absolutely recommend the place to people looking for simple but good food with excellent wine in a place that clearly isn't a tourist trap.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was looking for a restaurant with good food, decent wine and a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant has a limited menu but extensive wine selection. The food is excellent and the wait staff will suggest wine with your meal if you don't know what to select. The clientele wore everything from jeans to fur coats so don't be put off and go in. You could tell people enjoyed the food and socializing here. I don't speak Italien but was still made to feel welcomed. One the staff did speak some English. Reservations are a must if you are planning to go during dinner time. I went after 9 and it was still crowded but was able to be seated without a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottegone del Vino also viewed

Lugano, Ticino
Lugano, Ticino
 

Been to Bottegone del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottegone del Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.