We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but avoid going on a busy day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottegone del Vino

Bottegone del Vino
Via Magatti 3, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
91 922 76 89
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 267 Restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $27 - $72
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice place but avoid going on a busy day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

it is a terrific place with a great wine list and a good range of food items but it can be really irritating to wait for the waiters to answer you on a busy day. id rather go on a weekday and enjoy the food an wine with my husband. but i dint have that much time. neways it is a must visit restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    95
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rye, new york, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorites! In the world....including NY City...:-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I came back here (see my review from April 2012), this time with my son, to make sure i loved it as much as i thought i did.....and....I did!
Our kind of place.

They have
Passion for the food
Passion for the wine
Simple, short menu. Who cares! When the food is this good it means they FOCUS on it.

We shared the Steak Tartare (don't even bother trying to eat this alone!)
FANTASTIC. The best I've ever had.

I had Risotto with Bronzino (fish)....! WOW.
Possibly the best risotto i ever had....and we make risotto all the time at home, so we know tender loving care of arborio rice. The fish was very good.
The ravioli del giorno was also excellent.

It's a little bright and loud...but, lively and fun.

We talked food and wine with our waiter....we asked him to choose each wine (by the glass) to match our foods.....every choice was excellent!

Too bad we can't afford to fly here more often for dinner..... we would if we could.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Superb wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Always packed restaurant in Lugano, they have the best wine list you can find in Lugano. Food is not bad at all, beef tartare is quite good and not expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Limited menu--not a problem. Special menu of the day is really wonderful. Service is excellent. All staff know their wines especially Rudolfo. Would not miss going for lunch or dinner if you are visiting Lugano. Reserve in advance, best thru your hotel. Genuine, delicious, sophisticated, and local clientele.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is clearly a favorite of the locals and it is easy to see why. The food is delicious. The chef prepares a short menu selection and covers enough variety to please most palates. The pasta with rabbit ragu was wonderful as was the ravioli. This is an easy walk from most places in the downtown area of Lugano.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottegone del Vino also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Bottegone del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottegone del Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.