We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, incredible food, amazing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Selva to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Selva
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, incredible food, amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

stayed just one night, highly recommend this hotel. room was huge, clean, quiet. service perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
20
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Recently, my husband and I stayed at this lovely gem of a hotel. We were very pleased with the location(minutes walking to the center of town or taking a funicular) and the room. Our room, on the second floor, had a view of the lake and surrounding mts. It was also very light and cheerful which we loved. The breakfast was a little more than adequate....platter of different kinds of bread, cheese and ham, coffee/tea, juice and upon request, for a small fee, you could have an egg. We did have dinner at the restaurant and the pasta was fine. Unfortunately, due to lack of warm weather, we couldn't use the pool or sit in the lovely garden. Although, the owner was nice, she also seemed very aloof. Lugano is a lovely area with lots of pedestrian only streets, pretty parks and great walking along the lake. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

A 2 star hotel in the center of Lugano, a nice place to stay very economic and simple at a very good rate ( why pay more unless your looking for all the comforts ) .The rooms are simple and have been renewed all with double glazing, also new bathrooms. It has private parking, park and swimming pool. The breakfast is basic but good no fancy buffet. The owner Mrs Foletti is very pleasent and helpfull. Every time I go to Lugano I always stay here. If you are lookig for a clean, bassic and not expensive hotel I highly recomend this.

  • Liked — Simple, basic, clean and not expensive
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed here for a few days for work and then with my husband in June. Its a short walk from the train station, and the garden ( patio) is lovely. The rooms on the front and side of the house can get very loud ( even with double windows) so you may want to ask for a room on the back) Pool is cool and refreshing.
The rooms are clean, ikea furnished ,not luxe by any means- but totally servicable in a house that has character. We did not eat at the restaurant but it seems to draw folks from the surrounds for long leisurely meals.
Breakfast is classic European and the coffee is good.
The owner is a bit terse; not sure if she did not like us or it is just her personality?

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

I have stayed at the Hotel Villa Selva two times in Lugano, Switzerland. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a/c in summer. The grounds are well-landscaped and lush. The pool is nice with lounge chairs around it. Dinner is a great value and very delicious. You can hang out inside the restaurant to watch tv like we did while the World Cup was going on. The woman who runs it is very sweet and speaks decent English. Overall, a great value and nice place. The only downside is it isn't as convenient as hotels near the train station or downtown. We easily walked the 15 minutes from the train station to get there but for some people they may not like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Colibri
Hotel Colibri
#27 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.9 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#9 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Selva 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.