We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Selva to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Selva
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very cozy and nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I went with my husband to Lugano, and spent 2 days. The entrance is very pretty, but the owner wasn't friendly. The room and bathroom were too small but very clean, no hairdryer and TV small too. We didn't have a nice view from our room. Our stay at Lugano wasn't pleasent as was raining all day and my advice is to go by car because it's not close to downtown, and if it's raining is awfull. We had to take a bus to the station and due to the rain got all wet. The city is small and nice, not many restaurants or coffeshops. The lake is beautiful. Overall we enjoy our visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I like it too match! Its real old local style. I fell here like at me childhood in Georgia. Moreover, the sort of grape is the same:) I was here in another hotel like **** or ***** (villa Sassa or Eden) but prefer villa Selva at last.

Room Tip: Be sure that you'll get the best one from the sets of all vacant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderSinitsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed at Villa Selva for one night on a business trip. The owner was very friendly, the room quite simple but spacious and clean. The hotel is a short bus ride away from the station and the city center. Breakfast was quite basic but not disappointing. It was winter so I could not enjoy the garden, which looks very nice. I'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astralcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean room with very basic facilities (a tiny bathroom and the tiniest shower ever!) Aked for a room hair dryer on day 1 and never got it (the other rooms had one inside).
No variety for breakfast that was exactly the same every day - no cereals, no yoghourt, nothing else than bread, butter and jam every single day. Also, we had to beg for an orange juice that was missing in the first place! Very stingy indeed!
Not kids friendly at all! I wouldn't recommend going there with your kids.
We felt like we were disturbing the owner when we asked her a piece of advice (like how to get to the town center).
Quite badly located too - not near the center and not that easy to find.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a baby or small infants, ask for a room on the first floor as there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The villa is a fifteen-minute walk from the train station. It is uphill, so if you have a lot of luggage, you may want to take the bus or a taxi. The villa is away from the tourist area, but the old town is only fifteen minutes away by foot. The area nearby is rather ordinary, but as you enter the property through a long pergola covered with grape vines, you immediately feel that you're in a country setting. (We were served the grapes at breakfast each day.)

It was quiet while we were there, as only a few of the rooms were occupied. The room was quiet, sufficiently large and clean, and the bed was comfortable.

The highlight or our stay was the dining room. Mme. Foletti and her friendly staff provided very nice dinners. These were not like those you would find in a hotel dining room. It was more like being invited for dinner in someone's home. Mme. Foletti often walked around the dining room offering second helpings. One day, my wife asked for a recommendation for a restaurant that served lasagna. The next day, Mme. Foletti made us lasagna!

We felt very well looked after at the Villa Selva. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is away from the tourist area while still being convenient, and with Swiss home cooking, we can recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed only one night but felt the family atmosphere and appreciated the personal service. Cute little garden, central location although no shops around. It is not in the touristic area but more in residential. The forms are simple but very clean. Good value for money! Will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose this hotel based on price and reviews and weren't disappointed. The rooms are clean, and although somewhat spartan (no airconditioning and uninspired preponderance of white used) the bed was comfortable and the view from our room was fantastic. The owner and staff are not rude, but they aren't entirely welcoming either. The pool is lovely and the tables and chairs and lounges dotted around the pool and yard were a welcome addition. It is like staying at a friends house (perhaps maybe a somewhat stand-offish friend) and the house itself is quite welcoming and charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#17 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maraini Resort
Maraini Resort
#16 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#4 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#34 of 44 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Selva 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing