We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service, good quality for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Selva to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Selva
Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“friendly service, good quality for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed at Villa Selva for one night on a business trip. The owner was very friendly, the room quite simple but spacious and clean. The hotel is a short bus ride away from the station and the city center. Breakfast was quite basic but not disappointing. It was winter so I could not enjoy the garden, which looks very nice. I'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
18
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean room with very basic facilities (a tiny bathroom and the tiniest shower ever!) Aked for a room hair dryer on day 1 and never got it (the other rooms had one inside).
No variety for breakfast that was exactly the same every day - no cereals, no yoghourt, nothing else than bread, butter and jam every single day. Also, we had to beg for an orange juice that was missing in the first place! Very stingy indeed!
Not kids friendly at all! I wouldn't recommend going there with your kids.
We felt like we were disturbing the owner when we asked her a piece of advice (like how to get to the town center).
Quite badly located too - not near the center and not that easy to find.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a baby or small infants, ask for a room on the first floor as there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The villa is a fifteen-minute walk from the train station. It is uphill, so if you have a lot of luggage, you may want to take the bus or a taxi. The villa is away from the tourist area, but the old town is only fifteen minutes away by foot. The area nearby is rather ordinary, but as you enter the property through a long pergola covered with grape vines, you immediately feel that you're in a country setting. (We were served the grapes at breakfast each day.)

It was quiet while we were there, as only a few of the rooms were occupied. The room was quiet, sufficiently large and clean, and the bed was comfortable.

The highlight or our stay was the dining room. Mme. Foletti and her friendly staff provided very nice dinners. These were not like those you would find in a hotel dining room. It was more like being invited for dinner in someone's home. Mme. Foletti often walked around the dining room offering second helpings. One day, my wife asked for a recommendation for a restaurant that served lasagna. The next day, Mme. Foletti made us lasagna!

We felt very well looked after at the Villa Selva. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is away from the tourist area while still being convenient, and with Swiss home cooking, we can recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed only one night but felt the family atmosphere and appreciated the personal service. Cute little garden, central location although no shops around. It is not in the touristic area but more in residential. The forms are simple but very clean. Good value for money! Will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose this hotel based on price and reviews and weren't disappointed. The rooms are clean, and although somewhat spartan (no airconditioning and uninspired preponderance of white used) the bed was comfortable and the view from our room was fantastic. The owner and staff are not rude, but they aren't entirely welcoming either. The pool is lovely and the tables and chairs and lounges dotted around the pool and yard were a welcome addition. It is like staying at a friends house (perhaps maybe a somewhat stand-offish friend) and the house itself is quite welcoming and charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent one night in this small hotel with my seven-year-old son, whilst driving up to Germany. The type of structure is more 'guest-house' than hotel, with only a few bedrooms. The rooms have no TV, air-conditioning, are small, but clean, cosy and comfortable. The general feeling is that of going to stay at the house of a friend. The garden is lovely with a swimming pool, to the delight of my son.
My son and I also had dinner at the restaurant. There is no written menu provided at the table (prices are written on a slate board in the reception) and the service was poor, even if the food was well-prepared and tasty. I had the feeling that I was 'penalised' and not taken seriously for being my myself with a child as we had to wait almost an hour to have our plates cleared after our second course. My son requested another portion of a vegetable side dish, served with the second course, only to be told that there was none left, when just afterwards the same dish was served to the table next to ours. We had to wait another 40 minutes to be served dessert. Dinner was at 20.00 and we finished eating at 23.00 - a bit long for three courses. As mentioned, despite the poor service, the food was good. Breakfast was served at the table on a tray - no self service - and it was not particularly abundant. No croissants :-(
The hotel does not take credit or debit cards, so you need to have enough cash ready if you are going to sleep and eat there. I thought that considering that it was more guest-house than hotel, the price was a little high for the services offered. I would go again, simply for the fact that it had a homely feeling. My only request would be that the service becomes a little friendlier too.
The hotel is located outside of town - a ten minute walk to the station and then a minute or two on the Funicular railway. Otherwise it is a 20 minute walk into the centre of Lugano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Small family friendly B&B . Clean and homelike atmosphere,close to Center. Loved by locals for Dinner. Home cook meals not cheap but tasty.Staff speak Russian was very handy!
Recommend for longer stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay on top floor in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.