We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Selva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Selva
Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose this hotel based on price and reviews and weren't disappointed. The rooms are clean, and although somewhat spartan (no airconditioning and uninspired preponderance of white used) the bed was comfortable and the view from our room was fantastic. The owner and staff are not rude, but they aren't entirely welcoming either. The pool is lovely and the tables and chairs and lounges dotted around the pool and yard were a welcome addition. It is like staying at a friends house (perhaps maybe a somewhat stand-offish friend) and the house itself is quite welcoming and charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
14
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent one night in this small hotel with my seven-year-old son, whilst driving up to Germany. The type of structure is more 'guest-house' than hotel, with only a few bedrooms. The rooms have no TV, air-conditioning, are small, but clean, cosy and comfortable. The general feeling is that of going to stay at the house of a friend. The garden is lovely with a swimming pool, to the delight of my son.
My son and I also had dinner at the restaurant. There is no written menu provided at the table (prices are written on a slate board in the reception) and the service was poor, even if the food was well-prepared and tasty. I had the feeling that I was 'penalised' and not taken seriously for being my myself with a child as we had to wait almost an hour to have our plates cleared after our second course. My son requested another portion of a vegetable side dish, served with the second course, only to be told that there was none left, when just afterwards the same dish was served to the table next to ours. We had to wait another 40 minutes to be served dessert. Dinner was at 20.00 and we finished eating at 23.00 - a bit long for three courses. As mentioned, despite the poor service, the food was good. Breakfast was served at the table on a tray - no self service - and it was not particularly abundant. No croissants :-(
The hotel does not take credit or debit cards, so you need to have enough cash ready if you are going to sleep and eat there. I thought that considering that it was more guest-house than hotel, the price was a little high for the services offered. I would go again, simply for the fact that it had a homely feeling. My only request would be that the service becomes a little friendlier too.
The hotel is located outside of town - a ten minute walk to the station and then a minute or two on the Funicular railway. Otherwise it is a 20 minute walk into the centre of Lugano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Small family friendly B&B . Clean and homelike atmosphere,close to Center. Loved by locals for Dinner. Home cook meals not cheap but tasty.Staff speak Russian was very handy!
Recommend for longer stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay on top floor in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Small paradise in Lugano, centrally located:beautiful garden with very nice pool. Nice and very clean room. And we enjoyed very much the home cooked food, having dinner outside under the pergola. Everything has a personal touch. The owner and her staff are very friendly and helpful. This kind of unique hotel you find very rarely these days. Excellent quality for a fair price, especially for Lugano standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. Went back and forth about what I thought about the hotel. Some pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Very nice pool and gardens! Really exceptional for a 2-star property.
2. View of the lake from our bedroom window. Though somewhat marred by construction (see more about construction below).
3. Furnishings are simple (perhaps even a little spartan), but the room and bathroom were really impeccably clean.
4. Close to a bus stop.
5. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious, and unlike at breakfast, portions were generous and we were even offered seconds!

Cons:
1. Not the property's fault, but there is some major construction going on right next door, making it quite noisy in the gardens and pool.
2. Breakfast is adequate, but really monotonous. Same bread, ham & cheese, jam & butter, everyday. It would not cost much more, nor increase the staff's workload much to vary this at least a little. Also, what was served was not offered abundantly-- exactly one super-thin slice of ham per person...
3. Location is out of the way-- very walkable from the train station, but not really walkable to (and especially back from-- it's uphill) the lakeside area.
4. No credit cards-- this was not a huge problem for us, but was not communicated to us ahead of time. Could be a problem for overseas visitors who can't withdraw a large sum of cash!
5. My biggest complaint would be the lack of a warm/gracious welcome. Though the owner and staff were not exactly unfriendly or rude, we just never felt like valued guests. Everyone who worked there just seemed tired and grouchy. Many requests we made were initially met with resistance. For example, when we asked for a crib for our 3 year old, the owner initially said no, that cribs were only for 2 year olds and younger. When we asked whether we could eat take-out pizza in the garden, we were initially told no. All this resistance just made us feel unwelcome.

Overall, though we had an adequate stay, I would look for a different hotel if we were to return to Lugano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 2 adult children. We were so happy to find this place. The price for the small apartment we rented was fantastic. We loved the location, about a 15 minute walk down the hill to the centre of town. We also enjoyed the breakfast, the gardens and swimming in the pool, which was very refreshing. We would definitely stay here again. It was a very relaxing and memorable experience and we even extended our stay from 2 nights to 3 nights, as we were all having such a good time.

Room Tip: We liked having rooms facing the lake for the views, which were exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gallen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Difficult to find inititally, easy to drive by the parking. Lovely gardens, swimming pool and restaurant. Rooms clean and good value for money. No Credit Cards. Wifi 5CHF.

Good Grappa from the grapes all over the covered garden.

Will be back!

Room Tip: Aircon in the rooms, but ask for a lake view room (now obscured). The road is quite close on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.