We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central hotel, right in the shopping and pedestrian area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo Garni to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very central hotel, right in the shopping and pedestrian area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Excellent location of this hotel, right in the city center, the staff was extremely nice, kind, and helpful. We highly recommend asking for their advice and tips. the room was reasonable, a little unusually structured (bathroom right next to the door) but absolutely fine. Our room had a bathtub which we didn't find in our other hotels during our trip.
Since the hotel is - as they write - in the pedestrian area, there is no parking area but you can park your car in a publich parking lot 6 minutes walking distance, but for an outrageous rate (CHF43 per 24 hours, but CHF30 for hotel guests).
They also had very nice breakfast.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine. If you park your car in the public parking lot, please make sure you exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
20
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I went to Lugano for a weekend and as I was travelling alone, I chose the hotel based on a fairly cheap price (a special winter offer) as well as the location, which was really superb! It's in the middle of the city center and a block away from the lake - the view is unfortunately just the wall of the next building. With normal price I'd say the value is average instead of the very good grade I've given now.
The room was a bit peculiar furnished, but had everything you need and was very clean. The bed was for my taste a little too hard and the pillow too soft, but for someone else they might be just perfect. Wifi works well. Basic breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Ideal location; close to the cable car which brings you down from the main train station. Second street row from the lake and in the middle of shops and restaurants. Staffs are very helpful and friendly, rooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is a typically and simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent location- a cable car takes you from railway station in 5 mins. Don't climb down like us!
To continue with location- it is next to grocery store, next block is the lake. It is also in between a lively shopping area and pedestrian zone.
Front desk was very friendly.
The 4 star is only because of the very limited breakfast. Otherwise it would have got 5 stars.
Definitely we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is only minutes from everything making it a 5 for location. Parking is in a car park within easy walking distance to the hotel but you have to drive quite a bit out of your way to get to it because of one way streets. The room we stayed in was clean, very small and also very dark even with the blinds open. There was no AC, only a small fan which you can't put in front of the window to catch the cooler air because the fan's vibration causes it to "walk" off of the sill onto the floor. The decor was very plain and non-descript. There was a sink in the room with a curtain around it, a separate room for the toilet and another area for the shower all of which was a little odd. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was pretty spartan by comparison with the vast selection of breakfast foods in the several other hotels we stayed in on our trip. At the San Carlo there was only coffee, bread, a croissant, juice and an apple or pear. There is a lift which is helpful when you check in and out with your luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While this isn't a modern hotel, it was clean and in a fabulous location. The grocery store was right next door and the lake was just block away. We loved Lugano and felt like we were right in the middle of everything. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly. We appreciated the small lift for our suitcases but took the stairs most of the time. If you are looking for a simple, reasonably priced hotel in a great location then book this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tour-de-Peilz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located 2 minutes away from the funicolare and the lake. Also, the coop city is just next to it and there are a couple of restaurants in the area. Although the rooms are rather small and old, the service is otherwise satiable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: 28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.