We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - not the most fashionable decor, but spotlessly clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo Garni to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location - not the most fashionable decor, but spotlessly clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I went to Lugano for a weekend and as I was travelling alone, I chose the hotel based on a fairly cheap price (a special winter offer) as well as the location, which was really superb! It's in the middle of the city center and a block away from the lake - the view is unfortunately just the wall of the next building. With normal price I'd say the value is average instead of the very good grade I've given now.
The room was a bit peculiar furnished, but had everything you need and was very clean. The bed was for my taste a little too hard and the pillow too soft, but for someone else they might be just perfect. Wifi works well. Basic breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riikka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Ideal location; close to the cable car which brings you down from the main train station. Second street row from the lake and in the middle of shops and restaurants. Staffs are very helpful and friendly, rooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is a typically and simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerWieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent location- a cable car takes you from railway station in 5 mins. Don't climb down like us!
To continue with location- it is next to grocery store, next block is the lake. It is also in between a lively shopping area and pedestrian zone.
Front desk was very friendly.
The 4 star is only because of the very limited breakfast. Otherwise it would have got 5 stars.
Definitely we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is only minutes from everything making it a 5 for location. Parking is in a car park within easy walking distance to the hotel but you have to drive quite a bit out of your way to get to it because of one way streets. The room we stayed in was clean, very small and also very dark even with the blinds open. There was no AC, only a small fan which you can't put in front of the window to catch the cooler air because the fan's vibration causes it to "walk" off of the sill onto the floor. The decor was very plain and non-descript. There was a sink in the room with a curtain around it, a separate room for the toilet and another area for the shower all of which was a little odd. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was pretty spartan by comparison with the vast selection of breakfast foods in the several other hotels we stayed in on our trip. At the San Carlo there was only coffee, bread, a croissant, juice and an apple or pear. There is a lift which is helpful when you check in and out with your luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While this isn't a modern hotel, it was clean and in a fabulous location. The grocery store was right next door and the lake was just block away. We loved Lugano and felt like we were right in the middle of everything. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly. We appreciated the small lift for our suitcases but took the stairs most of the time. If you are looking for a simple, reasonably priced hotel in a great location then book this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cps323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located 2 minutes away from the funicolare and the lake. Also, the coop city is just next to it and there are a couple of restaurants in the area. Although the rooms are rather small and old, the service is otherwise satiable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visylia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Let's start with the upside: this location is tough to beat--right on the main shopping street in sunny Lugano, steps from the lake shore, and an easy walk from the funicular (make sure to take the funicular down from the train station, not a cab). And the staff were very nice. An aside: I found generally that people in Ticino were more reluctant to speak English than elsewhere in our travels--but would gladly switch from Italian [which I don't speak beyond a few phrases] to German [which I do].

The bad news: our room was strangely configured (with the shower and a water closet flanking the entry (you step from the shower into the room), and a sink around the corner into the main part of the room. Very odd and impractical. Paint and furnishings badly need updating. The beds and breakfast unfortunately ranked at the bottom of our lodgings on this trip (9, spread across Switzerland and Germany). Very likable staff and an unbeatable location make this worth considering--but the owners here are missing an opportunity, it seems.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side of the building, but the street noise wasn't bothersome at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#24 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#23 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: 28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing