We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is San Carlos's best asset.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo Garni to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The location is San Carlos's best asset.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is only minutes from everything making it a 5 for location. Parking is in a car park within easy walking distance to the hotel but you have to drive quite a bit out of your way to get to it because of one way streets. The room we stayed in was clean, very small and also very dark even with the blinds open. There was no AC, only a small fan which you can't put in front of the window to catch the cooler air because the fan's vibration causes it to "walk" off of the sill onto the floor. The decor was very plain and non-descript. There was a sink in the room with a curtain around it, a separate room for the toilet and another area for the shower all of which was a little odd. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was pretty spartan by comparison with the vast selection of breakfast foods in the several other hotels we stayed in on our trip. At the San Carlo there was only coffee, bread, a croissant, juice and an apple or pear. There is a lift which is helpful when you check in and out with your luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    19
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
20
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While this isn't a modern hotel, it was clean and in a fabulous location. The grocery store was right next door and the lake was just block away. We loved Lugano and felt like we were right in the middle of everything. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly. We appreciated the small lift for our suitcases but took the stairs most of the time. If you are looking for a simple, reasonably priced hotel in a great location then book this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located 2 minutes away from the funicolare and the lake. Also, the coop city is just next to it and there are a couple of restaurants in the area. Although the rooms are rather small and old, the service is otherwise satiable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Let's start with the upside: this location is tough to beat--right on the main shopping street in sunny Lugano, steps from the lake shore, and an easy walk from the funicular (make sure to take the funicular down from the train station, not a cab). And the staff were very nice. An aside: I found generally that people in Ticino were more reluctant to speak English than elsewhere in our travels--but would gladly switch from Italian [which I don't speak beyond a few phrases] to German [which I do].

The bad news: our room was strangely configured (with the shower and a water closet flanking the entry (you step from the shower into the room), and a sink around the corner into the main part of the room. Very odd and impractical. Paint and furnishings badly need updating. The beds and breakfast unfortunately ranked at the bottom of our lodgings on this trip (9, spread across Switzerland and Germany). Very likable staff and an unbeatable location make this worth considering--but the owners here are missing an opportunity, it seems.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side of the building, but the street noise wasn't bothersome at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel by its proximity to the train station (and funicular), its room rates, and TripAdvisor ratings. The hotel is family-owned and has only 20 rooms. We arrived early on the train and were allowed to check into our room by 8:30am. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but adequate and amazingly quiet. There was no AC, but there was a small fan that helped cool the room at night. The small analog TV had no English channels. The sink, toilet, and shower were separate from each other. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the boat docks and the old town area. The breakfast was minimal, but adequate (breads, fruit, biscuits, juice, coffee, and tea).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First the good : very central location, free wifi, very sweet and helpful elderly gentleman on reception.
The bad: everything else, with special mention to the lack of comfort in the rooms, terrible beds and bed linen that must have been the cheapest possibly available 25 years ago.

The hotel would make a perfect prison, all it would need is biggest locks on the doors.

Room Tip: An upgrade is possible, by getting arrested and spending the night in police cells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for the proximity to Lugano lake & Funicular station . During our 2 day stay we were provided excellent service & out of the way care in many small things like the right plug for the Laptop , complimentary tickets to swiss miniature , use of hotel kitchen & making arrangements for sight seeing . The owners are a caring lot ,will recommend stay at this hotel & would love to come back in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: 28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.