We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo Garni to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While this isn't a modern hotel, it was clean and in a fabulous location. The grocery store was right next door and the lake was just block away. We loved Lugano and felt like we were right in the middle of everything. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly. We appreciated the small lift for our suitcases but took the stairs most of the time. If you are looking for a simple, reasonably priced hotel in a great location then book this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
20
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Renens, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located 2 minutes away from the funicolare and the lake. Also, the coop city is just next to it and there are a couple of restaurants in the area. Although the rooms are rather small and old, the service is otherwise satiable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Let's start with the upside: this location is tough to beat--right on the main shopping street in sunny Lugano, steps from the lake shore, and an easy walk from the funicular (make sure to take the funicular down from the train station, not a cab). And the staff were very nice. An aside: I found generally that people in Ticino were more reluctant to speak English than elsewhere in our travels--but would gladly switch from Italian [which I don't speak beyond a few phrases] to German [which I do].

The bad news: our room was strangely configured (with the shower and a water closet flanking the entry (you step from the shower into the room), and a sink around the corner into the main part of the room. Very odd and impractical. Paint and furnishings badly need updating. The beds and breakfast unfortunately ranked at the bottom of our lodgings on this trip (9, spread across Switzerland and Germany). Very likable staff and an unbeatable location make this worth considering--but the owners here are missing an opportunity, it seems.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side of the building, but the street noise wasn't bothersome at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel by its proximity to the train station (and funicular), its room rates, and TripAdvisor ratings. The hotel is family-owned and has only 20 rooms. We arrived early on the train and were allowed to check into our room by 8:30am. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but adequate and amazingly quiet. There was no AC, but there was a small fan that helped cool the room at night. The small analog TV had no English channels. The sink, toilet, and shower were separate from each other. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the boat docks and the old town area. The breakfast was minimal, but adequate (breads, fruit, biscuits, juice, coffee, and tea).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First the good : very central location, free wifi, very sweet and helpful elderly gentleman on reception.
The bad: everything else, with special mention to the lack of comfort in the rooms, terrible beds and bed linen that must have been the cheapest possibly available 25 years ago.

The hotel would make a perfect prison, all it would need is biggest locks on the doors.

Room Tip: An upgrade is possible, by getting arrested and spending the night in police cells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for the proximity to Lugano lake & Funicular station . During our 2 day stay we were provided excellent service & out of the way care in many small things like the right plug for the Laptop , complimentary tickets to swiss miniature , use of hotel kitchen & making arrangements for sight seeing . The owners are a caring lot ,will recommend stay at this hotel & would love to come back in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Good, clean and friendly hotel, very situated right in the middle of the town centre and minutes from the waterfront. Rooms are nothing special but clean and adequately equiped. The staff were very friendly and very helpful which always makes a big difference. Some noise from the street below at night but have experienced far worse. Breakfast is a simple affair but does the job! Would go back, would recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: 28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.