We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bullied in to paying 100 euros for an old key that broke in room door kock” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo Garni to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bullied in to paying 100 euros for an old key that broke in room door kock”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Forced, (bullied) into paying 100 euros for an old key that broke in my room door lock. Key broke with no obvious difficulties with lock. I was threatened with being charged for the room they offered me, as I could not gain access my room, the key it self , and the labour to fix the lock. We argued about this my entire 3 night stay. In the end, I paid 100 euros, only because my friend had booked the room, and they threatened that had her passport details. I was stressed with this, everyday of my stay in Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    20
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
21
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It would have been useful to know that the hotel was near the funicular when we arrived at the train station, as the taxi was about CHF 18 and funicular around CHF 1! The hotel itself is quite basic, and the room was small, but adequate. Just outside is the top shopping street and the lakefront is nearby. Wi-Fi and a basic breakfast were included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo Ca
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and were very satisfied. Moderate price for expensive Lugano and a great location. Funicular to the train (1.10 CHF -must pay in CHF) only a short walk in pedestrian area which has many stores and restaurants. The lake promenade is one block away.
The entrance is narrow between store fronts and there is no lobby except the front desk.
Our room # 31 had a carved natural wood decor with large wardrobe closet. Room no smaller than most for a "garni" hotel. Very clean, of course. Super nice staff at front desk. Simple breakfast. We would return if in Lugano again.

Room Tip: Room 31 small but comfortable, no view except across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed here (October 1-3, 2012) and was very happy with my room. I'm not sure why some reviews say the decor is outdated; room 43 had perfect Swiss decor. The room was large and fully equipped. The bathroom (and the entire room) was exceptionally clean. Having just arrived from Venice, Italy I found this hotel fantastic. Beppe and his wife were the perfect hosts, as were all staff we interacted with. Breakfast is standard European fare, perhaps chain hotels offer something more "western". (Croissants were excellent!). Would absolutely stay here again. Perfect, safe location for female travelers.

Room Tip: Room 43 was quiet, clean and included a small view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is nothing fancy, but centrally located and clean. Breakfast was the typical ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, bread, etc. but it was plentiful.

Be sure when arriving by train to walk across the street and take the funicular down. At the bottom, walk to your right. We were tired from traveling and elected to take a taxi which basically drove us down the hill and charged us a flat fee of 20€.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was very outdated. It looks really old and It's in desperate need of some renovation. The breakfast wasn't worth having, it would be better if they just didn't serve it. Very disappointing indeed. But then again, staff were very friendly and the hotel is very central.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay here, en route from Switzerland to begin a cruise in Venice. It is handily situated, just one street back from the lake and we had two rooms, one of which was smaller and more recently renovated - the other being larger and still perfectly satisfactory.

We had booked online and had great communication from the office, and upon arrival the front desk staff were particularly helpful and efficient.

The rooms were both very clean, as was the breakfast room with the meal being a good start to the day. I would thoroughly recommend the San Carlo as a good place for travellers wanting a solid, if not flashy, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#18 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#20 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: 28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.