We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but a bit basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo Garni to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but a bit basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was very outdated. It looks really old and It's in desperate need of some renovation. The breakfast wasn't worth having, it would be better if they just didn't serve it. Very disappointing indeed. But then again, staff were very friendly and the hotel is very central.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    19
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
20
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay here, en route from Switzerland to begin a cruise in Venice. It is handily situated, just one street back from the lake and we had two rooms, one of which was smaller and more recently renovated - the other being larger and still perfectly satisfactory.

We had booked online and had great communication from the office, and upon arrival the front desk staff were particularly helpful and efficient.

The rooms were both very clean, as was the breakfast room with the meal being a good start to the day. I would thoroughly recommend the San Carlo as a good place for travellers wanting a solid, if not flashy, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Lugano, near the Lake, near two commercial centres and near everything. It's easy to arrive to the hotel from the train station by using the funiculare, and while coming from the train station isn't a big deal, going back with luggages could be really tiring (the train station is the peak of the city).

About the staff: They were absolutely helpful in everything, from providing a good breakfast, checking all the time if you needed something else, to help me making a call because I had lost my ID card in the last hotel we were staying at.

Breakfast: it's not a buffet, but you get bread, croissants, cheese, orange juice, marmalade, butter, coffee, tea or chocolate, and, of course, water. The breakfast room is really clean, like everything else in the hotel.

Rooms: Clean, big enough and slightly outdated. We were in the first floor and as we left the window open during the night, we could hear some noise in the street but we could sleep perfectly fine.

I'd highly recommend this hotel and I'd definitely come back if I travelled again to Lugano. It might be a 2* hotel, but it felt better than other 3* hotels that I've been at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This Garni hotel is an excellent value: great position for visiting the city, a parking lot is just a few meters behind the hotel, so it is very comfortable to get there. Rooms are small and not very attractive, they are no-frills but are very functional and have all you really need: cleanliness, good shower, comfortable beds. Breakfast is a little bit limited in choice, but tastes good. The owners are very friendly. A final word... the hotel is open all night long.
In brief: a good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Given Lugano's outrageous rates, €150 paid for evening (family of 3) seemed reasonable. Location cannot be more central and convenient, provided you are not driving or do not rely on taxis. Agree 100% with other reviews here: very friendly and helpful staff at reception, that made our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are O.K. in size, the furniture is outdated and a bit worn out, but nothing disturbing. So... thumbs up for San Carlo Garni...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel San Carlo for two nights in August 2011. The fantastic location puts you in the heart of Lugano, on a pedestrian-friendly street just a few minutes from the Piazza della Riforma, the lakefront, and the funicular to the train station. Rooms were quirky but clean -- a good choice if you're used to affordable European accommodations, but perhaps a little sparse if you've only traveled stateside. Perhaps the best part of Hotel San Carlo was the staff -- we spoke very little Italian, so we were grateful for the reception staff who spoke wonderful English and even helped us learn some Italian phrases. Good breakfast included, with coffee, juice and pastries served in the hotel's breakfast room.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel was a real dream and a great find. It is perfectly placed on via Nassa, one street back from the road running alongside the lake, and only 10 mins away from Lugano station (via the funicular). The hotel is only small but has a lot of personality and charm. The staff are great and extremely friendly and willing to help. We asked for extra pillows and they were provided no problem at all. The room was really comfy and bright, and very spacious. We had a corner room which had a view through to the lake.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again when I am next in Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: 28, via Nassa, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.